The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to connect to aws RDS from WHM

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by arunnair555, Jun 30, 2017.

  1. arunnair555

    arunnair555 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trivandrum
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello guys,

    I am facing an issue with connecting AWS RDS to WHM. As per my knowledge I have done all the things correctly. But getting the permission error. Now I have the doubt that whether is it possible to connect the RDS to WHM.
    Thank you for anticipating for a reply.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    The error message is showing that mysql privileges is not set for the user gauravdb. You have to set privileges through cpanel.
     
  3. arunnair555

    arunnair555 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trivandrum
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi SysSachin,

    Thanks for the reply.

    But the issue is not related to permission. While checking on a deeper level it is found that you need a user with Super privilege to connect from WHM to RDS. There is only one such user in the RDS ie 'rdsadmin'; which is used for taking backups and snapshots. I tried to give the Super Privilege to a root user but ended with the error:
    ERROR 1054 (42S22): Unknown column 'ERROR (RDS): SUPER PRIVILEGE CANNOT BE GRANTED OR MAINTAINED' in 'field list'.
    AWS will not allow any other user to have Super Privilege. Did you faced this issue? I have no clue on how to do

    Thanks&Regards,
    Arun Nair
     
  4. Anoop P Alias

    Anoop P Alias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kochi,Kerala,India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes cPanel will need a superuser to connect and activate the remote MySQL profile.

    You should look at other providers like Google/Rackspace for managed cloud DB service. I am not sure if they provide superuser access though.
     
  5. arunnair555

    arunnair555 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trivandrum
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks for the reply Anoop;

    Wasted few days :(
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,163
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The earlier post is correct. Here's the notes from our Manage MySQL Profiles document:

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page