The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

unable to create any directory that uses numbers as the directory name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by madan.cpanelnet, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. madan.cpanelnet

    madan.cpanelnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    INDIA
    Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
    ==================================================================
    root@server [~]# cat /etc/redhat-release

    Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES release 4 (Nahant Update 5)

    root@server [~]# uname -a
    Linux server.integrityserver.net 2.6.9-55.ELsmp #1 SMP Fri Apr 20 17:03:35 EDT

    2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
    root@server [~]#


    How reproducible:
    ======================

    root@server [~]# mkdir 1
    mkdir: cannot create directory `1': No such file or directory
    root@server
    [~]# mkdir 12
    mkdir: cannot create directory `12': No such file or directory
    root@server [~]# mkdir 1a2
    root@server [~]#



    Actual results:
    ======================
    mkdir: cannot create directory `1': No such file or directory



    Expected results:
    ======================
    should be able to create a directory

    Additional Info:
    ==================
    root@server [~]# ll $(which mkdir)
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 25060 Sep 19 15:46 /bin/mkdir*

    root@server [~]# rpm -qf $(which mkdir)
    coreutils-5.2.1-31.6
    root@server [~]#
    root@server [~]# mount -a
    root@server [~]#
    root@server [~]#alias | grep mk
    root@server [~]#


    FSType = ext3




    Please advise.


    Thanks
     
  2. kran

    kran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colombia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I´m having the same problem

    Some people say that a Kernel reload will fix it, others that the server has been compromised


    Any help? centos 5.x
     
  3. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    kernels been compromised by the looks of it.

    anyone know how though?
     
  4. kran

    kran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colombia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    I had to do an OS RELOAD.

    Datacenter knows about this problem, but has no Idea of how machines are getting rooted

    If any one knows please let us know
     
Loading...

Share This Page