The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to create DB in Cpanel or phpmyadmin

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by mrwizard9k, Sep 1, 2016.

  1. mrwizard9k

    mrwizard9k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    MO
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I searched but came up with nothing.

    I was brought on by a company to take manage their sites from a webdesign firm. The sites are currently in wordpress multisite format, which we are looking to step away from.

    I have accessed cpanel and phpmyadmin with the root login, looking to create a seperate database to install a new wordpress to build a test environment for the creation of a new site.

    However, I am unable to find the mySQL Db wizard in cpanel and when I go to Manage Databases, I am only able to rename DB not create ect.

    I then when to phpmyadmin and hit a wall again. There is no option to create a DB above the general settings container and no access to create new when I go to Databases.

    I have never had an issue like this, I would appreciate any assistance in getting this resolved.

    Thanks
    Wiz
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Login to cPanel as the cPanel user, not root. Once there, find the Databases section > MySQL Databases. There, you create a Database, then Create User, then Add User to Database and you're good to go.
     
  3. mrwizard9k

    mrwizard9k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    MO
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply. I tried to create a new account since the only user info the company has is the root. Unfortunately I get this message:
    Create a New Account[

    Account Creation Status: failed

    (XID vbxrsz) The domain “*******.com” already exists in the Apache configuration.



    I am coming into this completely blind, as the company I am working for and their previous web design firm had a falling out.
    I am having to learn how everything is set up from the previous developer by simply exploring.
     
    #3 mrwizard9k, Sep 1, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2016
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In WebHost Manager, top left corner is a search box, locate, List Accounts using that and check to see the accounts on the server.

    The accounts you find all have passwords that can be changed right from WHM. That might be a good place to start.

    Now you have account usernames assuming there are accounts, you can give them new passwords and login to them as needed to do what you need to.
     
  5. mrwizard9k

    mrwizard9k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    MO
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you again, I was able to access this account. But........ there is virtually no access. This is all that is available on the left sidebar. I am really at a loss here, I've never hit this many roadblocks trying to do something so simple.

    [Removed - Please post a screenshot or remove references to real domain names]
     
    #5 mrwizard9k, Sep 1, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2016
  6. mrwizard9k

    mrwizard9k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    MO
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not sure why that last info was deleted. There was no domain info included, but here is a screen shot.

    - Removed - Please Attach Images to Your Posts -
     
    #6 mrwizard9k, Sep 1, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2016
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You copy/pasted server details and they turned into actual links. Always best to remove real details and use the code tags to wrap output or details you don't want turning into links automagically. ;)

    That screenshot is of WebHost Manager. It doesn't show the header where it has a user name showing of who you're logged in as but I'm assuming it does not say, root. Looks like you're on a Reseller account, or logged in as a Reseller.

    Under the Account Information listing on that left menu, you do see List Accounts, correct? When you go into that area, do you see any accounts?
     
  8. mrwizard9k

    mrwizard9k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    MO
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ooops.. Thank you for deleting those links. :oops:

    When logged into the non root account, the only thing listed under account information is "List Subdomains".

    Under root, there are 3 accounts, 2 are not associated with this site. The one that is is the account mentioned above.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Were you able to reset that account's password and then login as that cPanel user to the account properly? If yes, did you try creating the database as mentioned above?
     
  10. mrwizard9k

    mrwizard9k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    MO
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was able to log in that account, but no I was not able to create a database. The screen shot I posted a few posts up was showing the limited options in the sidebar from the non root account. Once logged into the non root account, there is no ability to see or create any db, phpmyadmin, or really anything.

    Let me know if you need me to edit this post to add the screen shot again.
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That screenshot, is from within WebHost Manager. :)

    Under the Account Information listing on that left menu, in WebHost Manager where you got the screenshot, find the List Accounts there on left menu. When you go into that List Accounts area in your WebHost Manager, do you see any accounts?

    Here's a screenshot from cPanel's WebHost Manager demo:

    lstacnts.png


    Here's a screenshot of where we're trying to get you into, and actual cPanel account for the website you want to manage:

    cPnlaccnt.png
     
  12. mrwizard9k

    mrwizard9k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    MO
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That was my issue. I was not clicking on the cp logo next to the domain. I have now created the db. Thank you so much for your help.
     
    Infopro likes this.
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Excellent. cPanel makes things very easy, once you know where to look! :)

    GL!
     
Loading...

Share This Page