The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to create or remove accounts / New accounts not in list accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yoseman, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. yoseman

    yoseman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    can't create accounts or terminate it

    --Removed--
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There was a thread on this, however vb seems to have eaten it when multiple threads got merged together

    ===

    Anyways, here is the fix:

    1) Check your /etc/resolv.conf. If its missing valid nameservers this can be the cause

    dig . NS

    If this times out then this is the problem. You have to fix your /etc/resolv.conf

    2) Make sure you aren't missing perl modules or have 11.x scripts on a 10.x machine

    run

    /scripts/perlinstaller File::Copy::Recursive
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules --bootstrap
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules --full

    If you want to keep 10.x:
    echo "CPANEL=stable" >> /etc/cpupdate.conf

    /scripts/upcp --force

    3) If this does not work enter a ticket @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/
     
  3. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cpanel Nick

    Hello

    thanks to your kind help

    i did exactly this you said more than one time in more than one server

    although i can create accounts after the /upcp --force it only works for one day

    so i took a look today in the cpanel error log and it has just one line saying:

    cPanel 11.x /scripts/wwwacct running on a 10.x machine!!! /scripts were updated without cPanel! Please run /scripts/upcp --force to force synchronization. at /scripts/wwwacct line 13.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /scripts/wwwacct line 15.

    maybe you can give me another clue based on this error log

    also i realise that wwwacct is dated Jun/16

    root@main [/scripts]# ls -lh wwwacct
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 5.6K Jun 16 01:04 wwwacct*

    it seems that when i did /upcp --force it placed a wwwacct of cpanel 10 generation (yesterday Jun/15)

    but at night it was replaced for a wwwacct cpanel 11 generation Jun/16

    imediattly after the /upcp --force i re-edited back /etc/cpupdate.conf to:

    CPANEL=never
    RPMUP=never
    SYSUP=never

    so that is why i see no reason for it change wwwacct alone at night

    should i update system too? or perl to 5.8.8? or leave as MANUAL the cpupdate.conf?

    thank you

    Claudio
     
    #3 claudio, Jun 16, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2007
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    Change CPANEL=never to

    CPANEL=stable (if you want to keep 10.x)
    CPANEL=release (if you want 11.x)

    then run /scripts/upcp --force
     
  5. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Unfotunatly I seem to have the same issue on an old CentOS3.8 32bit box .

    upgraded perl to 5.8.8 plus all other suggestions on the forum but still cant get WHM11 onto this box and the resellers are not ablt to install accounts anymore.

    all other boxes including the 64bit ones dont have any issues , just this one :(
    any other suggestions ?


    am also getting sync errors


    ==> Syncing with update server....syncing RELEASE/scripts
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/cpanel
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/bin
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/perl
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/whostmgr
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/src
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/3rdparty
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/cgi-sys
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/java-sys
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/base/3rdparty
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/x
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/x2
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/x3
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/x3mail
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
    syncing RELEASE/xmail
    --repo could not be resolved to an ip adddress, please check your /etc/resolv.conf at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 264.
     
  6. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    thanks for your help

    should i keep :
    CPANEL=stable (if you want to keep 10.x)

    after the /scripts/upcp --force

    ????

    so i cannot turn it back to :


    CPANEL=never
    or manual?

    thanks
     
  7. bregle

    bregle Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i am suddenly having the same error. it simply says "done" without actually doing anything.

    unfortunately i have suddenly inherited the server but i am not a server person. All i have ever done is work with accounts, not with the server code itself.

    i dont even know where to run the suggested command to force the test.

    is there some software i need to install on my local machine? or where do i log in to do that?

    i am a techie, and very bright, but beyond my current knowledgebase. My expertise is software related, not hardware or server management. :eek:

    thanks,
    Becky
     
  8. dougvaughan

    dougvaughan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i'm having the same problems described in this thread and the others - i can't create new accounts, terminate accounts, suspend/unsuspend, etc. the fix /scripts/upcp doesn't work (i get an error) , also, upgrading from whm doesn't work either. it just sits at 0%. i'm running WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-S119. one thing i found that was odd, when i reboot the box, i get an error "unkown host rdate.darkorb.net: No address associated with name". naturally, i did a search for this, but came up empty. any suggestions?
     
  9. sifuhall

    sifuhall Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I started having this issue today as well.

    After adding a new account I get:

    Account Creation Complete!!!


    But the account isn't in the list of accounts and doesn't appear to have been created
     
  10. sifuhall

    sifuhall Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. blogmaster2003

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I am having this problem with one server too.

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R37
    CentOS 4.5 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  12. sifuhall

    sifuhall Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm having the same issue about not being able to create accounts.

    I tried the steps in the first post but I'm still unable to create accounts.

    After trying to create the accounts I get "Acount created" but the account doesn't show up in the list or on the filesystem.
     
  13. blogmaster2003

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I am having this problem with one server too.

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R37
    CentOS 4.5 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    how can i solve this issue (i am a newbie)
     
  14. dougvaughan

    dougvaughan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    NOTE: /scripts/upcp wont even run for me, nor any other update. note the unknown host thingy from my earlier post. also, when i change the domain name of a site, i lose the site in the listing in whm.
     
    #14 dougvaughan, Jun 17, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2007
  15. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    can you post this error?

    or give a check at /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log ?
     
  16. dougvaughan

    dougvaughan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sadley, i don't know how to do this. is there an easy way through whm?
     
  17. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if you have root access to WHM then you can or in WHM set update config to Stable in the Cpanel field then Update Cpanel through WHM and take a note of this error you have

    but better than this if you can SSH into this machine and follow this commands or hire someone to do this for you

    in fact it all depends if you have root access or not to this machine...
     
    #17 claudio, Jun 18, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2007
  18. dougvaughan

    dougvaughan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the box is 5 ft from me. i just need to look up the command for viewing a file. the last time i had to edit one, i think i used pico.
    when i attempt to upgrade through whm, i get no errors. it just sits there. i honestly think i know the root of the problem - my server can't find darkorb.net. i'm pretty sure that's why it has this prob. it did this awhile back, but miraculously fixed itself.
     
  19. dougvaughan

    dougvaughan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ------- UPDATE ---------------

    i opened a support ticket (2nd time since 2004) and was told perl modules:
    File-Copy-Recursive was corrupt. it was reinstalled manually along with upgrade to current stable and now things are back to normal.
     
  20. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    just to let you all know in my case the problem was switching back in update config

    CPANEL=stable (if you want to keep 10.x) to

    CPANEL=never

    if we turn this back to never (in 3 machines i saw this happening) then next day cpanel change /scripts/wwwacct to cpanel 11 script

    so i to avoid leave as Stable and have a unexpected update in the future i start to use MANUAL after the update and it worked well as next days cpanel didnt change wwwacct

    the only issue is Stable 13517 has a problem in pure-ftpd passwords

    so i am using proftpd instead just for a while

    regards
    Claudio
     
Loading...

Share This Page