The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to install cpAddon

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anton_latvia, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    a strange thing happened - for some reason on a server with enabled cpAddons in cPanel customer is getting just a blank page - there is cpanel's header and footer and that is all. I have tried force-upgrading and cpaddon reinstall, but that did not help. Why could it be?

    We also have Fantastico enabled on the server.

    Anton.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Any errors in your log right after visiting this page? Is the account using the default X3 theme from cPanel?
     
  3. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    In addition to what Infopro has asked, please also let us know the following so that we may further diagnose the described difficulty:
    1.) Is the issue affecting just one user, multiple, or all users?
    2.) Is there a third-party cPAddon vendor configured via Install cPAddons in WHM?
    3.) What is the full cPanel version number? This may be obtained using the following command via root SSH access:
    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel -V
    For reference, here is the path to the cPanel error_log:
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    Via root SSH access, the following command may be used to monitor for new messages logged while attempting to reproduce the issue via cPanel:
    Code:
    # tail -fvn0 /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
     
  4. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    here are my answers:
    0. nothing appears in error_log.
    1. yes, affecting at least 2 random and 1 new test account.
    2. no, there are no third party vendors. but as I mentioned, we have Fantastico installed.
    3. version is 11.25.0-RELEASE_42400

    Basically it is the following URL which we are trying to use and where page is empty, Advanced Guestbook.:
    https://<DOMAIN>:2083/frontend/x3/addoncgi/cpaddons.html?addon=cPanel::Guest_Books::Advanced_Guestbook
     
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Thank you for the information. While this may or may not directly affect the reported symptom, I would ensure to enable automatic updates or manually update to the latest RELEASE build; the latest builds information (version numbers) are available on our downloads page; here are two links for direct reference and comparison:
    http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/#builds
    http://changelog.cpanel.net/?treeview=release

    To confirm, when accessing the cPAddons Advanced Guestbook page (at the specified URL) is there any message included, such as "This is a modified cPanel module" or is it fully empty with exception to the page header and footer?

    Via WHM Tweak Settings, is there any change in behavior (of experiencing the blank page in cPanel) after toggling both of the following options (one at a time)?
    * "Prevent installation of addon scripts not provided by cPanel"
    * "Prevent installation of cPanel addon scripts that have been altered"
    Menu path and documentation: WHM: Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings >> cPAddons

    Is is issue affecting any other cPAddon modules or only the Advanced Guestbook?

    If it is only affecting the Advanced Guestbook cPAddon module, then I would try the following steps:
    1.) Via root SSH access, move/rename the directory containing the module and its install files:
    Code:
    # mv -v /usr/local/cpanel/cpaddons/cPanel/Guest_Books /usr/local/cpanel/cpaddons/cPanel/Guest_Books.backup
    2.) Force a refresh of all cPAddon sources via WHM:
    2.A) WHM: Main >> cPanel >> Install cPAddons
    2.B) Enable option: "Force Refresh of All cPAddon Sources"
    2.C) Click "Update Addon Config" to submit.
    3.) If the issue persists, remove then re-install the module:
    3.A) Disable/uncheck the module, then save by clicking "Update Addon Config," then click "Back."
    3.B) Next to the unchecked module, click "Completely Remove**," then click "Back"; the removal link should go to a URL like the following:
    Code:
    https://<$server>:2087/cgi/cpaddons.pl?action=rmpm&mod=cPanel::Guest_Books::Advanced_Guestbook
    3.C) Enable/check the module, then repeat step 2 to force a refresh of all cPAddon sources.
     
  6. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelDon, thank you for your help, but still nothing here. What is interesting, when I uninstalled AdvancedGuestbook - it did not disappear from CGI script list - I was able to request its installation but still with empty page, that came later. Should I open support ticket?

    Anton
     
  7. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Given the suggested steps did not help to fully alleviate the issue I believe a support ticket may be the best course of action at this time. When available, please send me a PM with your new ticket ID number so that I may follow-up internally.
     
  8. MattCurry

    MattCurry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    The following are the steps I used to resolve this issue:

    Go to : Main >> cPanel >> Install cPAddons >> Force Refresh of All
    cPAddon Sources (check box), and click on "Update Addon Config"

    This can sometimes resolve the issue.


    I hope this helps. :)
     
  9. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Strange, strange.. ;) Here is reply from cpanel support:

    After a forced update of the module, it appears to be running ok.

    I am sure I did that too, but.. Yes, it is working now. Thank you all for your help. :)

    Regards,
    Anton.
     
  10. MattCurry

    MattCurry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Yes, that is my reply :)

    I hope your up and running...
     
Loading...

Share This Page