Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Unable to install the Wordpress through Site Software

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sarath Kumar R, Aug 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Sarath Kumar R

    Sarath Kumar R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    We are facing the issue in installing Wordpress through cPanel >> Site Software.

    In " Site Software " you will get 2 Options to install WordPress

    1> WordPress (legacy)
    2> WordPress

    Here I'm facing issue with 2> option. It will say "Sorry, I need a wp-config-sample.php file to work from. Please re-upload this file to your WordPress installation."

    Any suggestion
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Can you verify which version of cPanel is installed on this system? Also, can you confirm if the issue persists if you browse to "WHM >> Install cPAddons Site Software", select the "Force Refresh of All cPAddons Site Software Sources" option, and click on "Update cPAddon Config"?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Murilo_Rocha

    Murilo_Rocha Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had the same error here, the following message appears on the screen:

    Error: The system could not run the “/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php” install script and received the error code “1”: Could not open input file: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/wp

    I have checked my system and the file: "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/wp" does not exist, I believe the problem is the lack of this binary file for wordpress installation, I''m using cpanel version 66.017.

    I already tried "Update cPAddon Config" but this did not solve the problem.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Murilo_Rocha,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Murilo_Rocha

    Murilo_Rocha Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I opened the ticket following your instructions and the support was able to solve my problem in a short time.

    Thank you so much!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I'm glad to see the issue is now solved. It looks to have related to the use of a third-party repo that provided the incorrect version of the wp-cli RPM.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Mad River Host

    Mad River Host Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vermont
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am having the same problem and this post does not provide the solution that was determined. One difference, I show legacy and 4.8.2, but do not have this choice when attempting to install. Just gives the error: "Error: The system could not run the “/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php” install script and received the error code “1”: Could not open input file: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/wp"
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Mad River Host,

    Could you post the output from the "yum list wp-cli" command on the affected system?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Mad River Host

    Mad River Host Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vermont
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't know how to do that. I opened a support ticket #8903687. Hoping you could apply the same solution from above to my server.
     
  10. coursevector

    coursevector Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Having the same issue, what was the solution?

    Error: The system could not run the “/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php” install script and received the error code “1”: Could not open input file: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/wp
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    To update, the issue was determined to be caused by a custom YUM repo implemented by the hosting provider. This was confirmed via the use of the following command:

    Code:
    yum info wp-cli|grep Repo
    The normal output of this command should resemble this:

    Code:
    # yum info wp-cli|grep Repo
    Repo        : cpanel-addons-production-feed/7/x86_64
    In ticket number 8903687, it showed:

    Code:
    From repo   : ul
    The solution was to exclude the wp-cli package in the /etc/yum.repos.d/UL.repo file by appending the following entry to it:

    Code:
    exclude=wp-cli
    Once that was done, the "yum remove wp-cli" and "yum install wp-cli" commands were used to reinstall the package from the correct Yum repo.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. coursevector

    coursevector Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hrmm.. mine returns this:

    root@host [~]# yum info wp-cli|grep Repo
    Repo : installed


    Installed Packages
    Name : wp-cli
    Arch : noarch
    Version : 0.22.0
    Release : 0.el7.centos
    Size : 1.4 M
    Repo : installed
    From repo : stable-noarch
    Summary : A Wordpress CLI
    URL : Command line interface for WordPress | WP-CLI
    License : MIT
    Description : A Wordpress CLI
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It looks like the same issue. You'd take the same steps to solve the issue, except to edit /etc/yum.repos.d/stable-noarch.repo instead.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. ramzez

    ramzez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Sorry to bother with this issue AGAIN.

    I am pretty tech savy in general but this deep dive into cPannel is new to me.
    I am getting the same error as everyone before me and read through all the comments.
    The problem is I don't understand how to implement the solution.

    The weird thing is I installed on one domain, wordpress without any issues. When I came to set up one on a second and third subdomain it created this error. As I wrote this I thought maybe the error was related to installing wordpress in subdomains only but no... I tried another subdomain and it worked fine.

    #1 I have cPanel version 76.0.9
    #2 Where do I type the commands you suggested to solve this issue
    #3 What is Yum?
    #4 what is repo?

    Maybe after these questions are answered I may be able to figure things out.

    Again sorry for these dumb noob questions

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @ramzez,

    Can you confirm if you have root access to this system, or if you are using cPanel as part of an account with a shared hosting provider? Without root access, you'd need to report this issue to your web hosting provider and reference the link to this thread to explain the problem.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. ramzez

    ramzez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Just noticed my error message is a little different on the end. Does this make a difference?

    The system could not run the “/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php” install script and received the error code “1”: Error: The 'wp-config.php' file already exists.

    I included a screen capture

    Still in the process of answer your question. "Can you confirm if you have root access to this system..."
     

    Attached Files:

  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,423
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @ramzez,

    Did you purchase a shared hosting package from a web hosting provider, or did you purchase a VPS or dedicated server package?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice