The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to load root directory for viewing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CodeMechanic, Mar 7, 2016.

  1. CodeMechanic

    CodeMechanic Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    I am relatively new to CPanel and WHM so please bare with me :).

    I am using WHM and I setup CPanel:

    Issue:

    Whenever I try to go to the root of CPanel to see the directory listing. It says, "You are not the owner of this website"? (I followed instructions on how to upload a Wordpress website into CPanel.

    I've installed the Wordpress site in another installation of CPanel without error a few times.

    I can FTP to the root folder and see everything, but when I try to go directly it does not work at all.

    I don't know if it is a setting or something else I've missed but the site is not my issue. My issue is that I cannot navigate to the root directory of public_html. I believe if i resolve that issue I can resolve my site issue as well.

    If you need any more information please let me know.

    Thank you for your help in advance.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you attach a screenshot of this so we can get a better idea of the issue you are facing?

    Thank you.
     
  3. CodeMechanic

    CodeMechanic Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have attached the screen capture of the error I keep receiving. I was in a little hurry yesterday so perhaps I should elaborate a little more.

    I have pointed my GoDaddy domain to my CPanel as well. (I don't know if this aids in solving the issue or not but just a tidbit of information)

    At one point I kept receiving a DNS error but that went away and was replaced with this. I feel like I might of messed up the installation perhaps? Or maybe it's just some small setting that I am over looking. I feel like such a noob lol :(.

    Thank you for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check to ensure the domain name resolves to the same IP address that it's assigned in Web Host Manager. Also, try viewing the page in another browser to ensure it's not cached data you are viewing.

    Thank you.
     
  5. CodeMechanic

    CodeMechanic Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you talking about that the domain from GoDaddy is pointing correctly at the IP address of the server itself? I will double check that, perhaps I set it in the wrong place on WHM?

    Thank you.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page