The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Unable to login to WHM 500 Internal Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kieko89, May 14, 2017.

  1. Kieko89

    Kieko89 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Their was an update that happened a few weeks ago and since then, I'm unable to login to WHM whatsoever. It just happened out of the blue. The error message I get is below:

    Code:
    [SIZE=6][B]Internal Server Error[/B]
    [B]500[/B]
    [B]The cPanel Server operation timed out at cpsrvd.pl line 531.[/B][/SIZE]
    
    I have searched this issue for over a week now and none of the posted information on this forum nor elsewhere had helped.

    I have attempted to run the update command via terminal and it just hangs

    Code:
    # /scripts/upcp --force
    
    The update hangs with the following output:

    Code:
    => Log opened from /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenow (4269) at Sun May 14 17:49:06 2017
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:06 -0400]   Detected version '11.62.0.17' from version file.
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:06 -0400]   Running version '11.62.0.17' of updatenow.
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:06 -0400]   --force passed on command line. Upgrade will disregard update config settings.
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:46 -0400] W Unable to download public key from vendor: cpanel, category: release, url: [URL]https://securedownloads.cpanel.net/cPanelPublicKey.asc[/URL]
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:46 -0400]   Error encountered while running 'wget' command.
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:46 -0400] --2017-05-14 17:49:06--  [URL]https://securedownloads.cpanel.net/cPanelPublicKey.asc[/URL]
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:46 -0400] Resolving securedownloads.cpanel.net (securedownloads.cpanel.net)... failed: Name or service not known.
    
    [2017-05-14 17:49:46 -0400] wget: unable to resolve host address 'securedownloads.cpanel.net'
    
    [2017-05-14 17:50:26 -0400] W Unable to download public key from vendor: cpanel, category: development, url: [URL]https://securedownloads.cpanel.net/cPanelDevelopmentKey.asc[/URL]
    
    [2017-05-14 17:50:26 -0400]   Error encountered while running 'wget' command.
    
    [2017-05-14 17:50:26 -0400] --2017-05-14 17:49:46--  [URL]https://securedownloads.cpanel.net/cPanelDevelopmentKey.asc[/URL]
    
    [2017-05-14 17:50:26 -0400] Resolving securedownloads.cpanel.net (securedownloads.cpanel.net)... failed: Name or service not known.
    
    [2017-05-14 17:50:26 -0400] wget: unable to resolve host address 'securedownloads.cpanel.net'
    
    [2017-05-14 17:50:26 -0400] W Failed to download all specified public keys.
    
    => Log closed Sun May 14 17:51:44 2017
    
    [2017-05-14 18:07:19 -0400]   Falling back to traditional TIERS version file
    
    It can keep going for several days without any luck.

    I had checked the error log at # nano /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log and this is what I have:
    Code:
     
    
    Last login: Sun May 14 15:10:35 2017 from 73.175.176.24
    
    [centos@rdg ~]$ sudo nano /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    
    [centos@rdg ~]$ sudo nano /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    
    [centos@rdg ~]$ sudo nano /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    
    [centos@rdg ~]$ sudo nano /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    
    [centos@rdg ~]$ sudo nano /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
                                                                     
    [2017-05-14 18:21:52 -0400] info [whostmgrd] Internal Server Error: "GET /favicon.ico HTTP/1.1" 500 The cPanel Server operation timed out at cpsrvd.pl line 53$
    
    
    [2017-05-14 18:25:08 -0400] info [whostmgrd] Internal Server Error: "GET / HTTP/1.1" 500 The cPanel Server operation timed out at cpsrvd.pl line 531.
    
    
    [2017-05-14 18:25:39 -0400] info [whostmgrd] Internal Server Error: "GET /favicon.ico HTTP/1.1" 500 The cPanel Server operation timed out at cpsrvd.pl line 53$
    
    
    [2017-05-14 18:34:39 -0400] warn [cpanelsync] httpupdate.cpanel.net could not be resolved to an IP adddress. Please check your /etc/resolv.conf file.
    
     at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/HttpRequest.pm line 863.
    
            Cpanel::HttpRequest::_getAddressList(Cpanel::HttpRequest=HASH(0x1801020), "httpupdate.cpanel.net", undef) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/HttpReque$
    
            Cpanel::HttpRequest::_initrequest(Cpanel::HttpRequest=HASH(0x1801020), "host", "httpupdate.cpanel.net", "url", "/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5/.cpan$
    
            Cpanel::HttpRequest::_request_file(Cpanel::HttpRequest=HASH(0x1801020), "exitOn404", 0, "host", "httpupdate.cpanel.net", "url", "/cpanelsync/cpaddons/$
    
            Cpanel::HttpRequest::request(Cpanel::HttpRequest=HASH(0x1801020), "exitOn404", 0, "host", "httpupdate.cpanel.net", "url", "/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddo$
    
            Scripts::cpanelsync::_wait_for_mirror_lock(Cpanel::HttpRequest=HASH(0x1801020), "httpupdate.cpanel.net", "/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5", HASH(0x17$
    
            Scripts::cpanelsync::script("Scripts::cpanelsync", "--signed=1", "httpupdate.cpanel.net", "/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsMD5", "/usr/local/cpanel/cpadd$
                                                                   
    ==> cpsrvd 11.62.0.17 started
    
    ==> cpsrvd: loading security policy....Done
    
    ==> cpsrvd: Setting up SSL support ... Done
    
    ==> cpsrvd: transferred port bindings
    
    ==> cpsrvd: bound to ports
    
    [2017-05-14 18:46:50 -0400] info [whostmgrd] Internal Server Error: "GET / HTTP/1.1" 500 The cPanel Server operation timed out at cpsrvd.pl line 531.
    
    The above sample is just some of the error log for today and if needed I can provide more. I'm just not sure as what is the problem at this point and really need some guidance as I've checked everything without finding a solution.

    This is what I got in my /etc/resolv.conf file:
    Code:
    ; generated by /usr/sbin/dhclient-script
    
    search website.tld
    
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    
    Please do let me know if anything else is needed.

    Thank you
     
    #1 Kieko89, May 14, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2017
  2. Kieko89

    Kieko89 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    When I use the cPanel app for iOS. I'm able to add the website and when attempting to login to whm via app I get a message stating the following
    Thing is when I run the command to update the license via ssh and it just hangs. I'm still not able to ping

    Also this is what I get when attempting to login via cPanel app to cPanel:

     
    #2 Kieko89, May 15, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2017
  3. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    There could be number of reasons for this and hard to just verbally discuss. Can you check if the disk space and inodes are free?

    Regarding the update error, " httpupdate.cpanel.net could not be resolved to an IP adddress. Please check your /etc/resolv.conf file. "
    --> Execute the below command and verify it is reachable:

    # ping httpupdate.cpanel.net
     
  4. Kieko89

    Kieko89 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Thank you for the response! I have checked the disk space and usage information and are listed below:




    Inodes:


    I have attempted to ping httpupdate.cpanel.net and got the below message:

    Can the firewall be causing an issue? Also is their a way to refresh an install without loosing data?
     
  5. cPanelJasonT

    cPanelJasonT Level 2 Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    83
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    When you see errors like this from WHM , it can be caused by myriad reasons. Can you create a ticket so that the server can be investigated directly at tickets.cpanel.net. After that, you can report the ticket number back here for reference.
     
  6. webhostuk

    webhostuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Did you try to Flush firewall and check or even try to stop iptable to check you are able to ping cpanel.
     
  7. Kieko89

    Kieko89 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, Thank you for the update, I have created a support ticket and here is the ref number: 8489003.

    At @webhostuk, I have followed a tutorial in regards to doing that and even then I was not able to ping. I even disabled the firewall as well and flushed the iptable. Now even the dns servers do not load, this had happened before, it was due to a license and the hostname changing as well as the resolv ips default to ns1 and ns2 every update and reboot but this time I've not gotten successful.
     
  8. Kieko89

    Kieko89 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello guys, I would like to update this thread. I was able to resolve the issue when I had spoken with the support specialists and the issue was resolved by going over the ports that were needed to be opened so that WHM/Cpanel can communicate and after doing that. The system was able to communicate right away!.
     
    Infopro likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page