The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to retrieve tier version info

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by willkruss, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. willkruss

    willkruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi All,

    I work in support at a VPS hosting company, and over the last 48 hours nearly all our cPanel VPSs (of which there are hundreds) are unable to update:

    Using mirror '216.12.197.42' for host 'httpupdate.cpanel.net'.
    [2015-09-02 00:59:08 +1000] ***** FATAL: Unable to retrieve tier version info: Failed to download URL 'http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/TIERS'.

    It seems like that particular mirror is having issues, how do we force upcp to get a new mirror, or can cPanel please fix that one so all the VPSs can auto-update again?

    Thanks,
    Will
     
  2. willkruss

    willkruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just an update, by removing that mirror from
    /root/.MirrorSearch/httpupdate.cpanel.net/mirrors.speeds updating then works.

    Also accessing http://216.12.197.42/cpanelsync/TIERS directly comes up with:
    Error 503 Backend fetch failed
    Backend fetch failed

    Guru Meditation:
    XID: 710246524

    Varnish cache server

    Can someone please remove that mirror from the rotation or fix it ASAP.

    Thanks,
    Will
     
    #2 willkruss, Sep 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2015
  3. cPTerrance

    cPTerrance *nix Technical Analyst II / Migrations Specialist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    You can use a specific mirror by creating /etc/cpsources.conf in the format of echo "HTTPUPDATE=1.2.3.4" >/etc/cpsources.conf replacing 1.2.3.4 with a valid mirror IP.
     
  4. willkruss

    willkruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I understand, I even mentioned a workaround in my last post, however, I don't have the time or inclination to do that on the hundreds of cPanel servers we support. Can you please fix your mirror?

    Thanks,
    Will
     
  5. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    It doesn't look like we own this cPanel mirror. This looks to be an internal mirror for ThePlanet/SoftLayer. There's nothing we can do for this mirror. You'd need to contact SoftLayer to get this fixed.
     
  6. willkruss

    willkruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Jacob,

    So you're saying that if we want to send cPanel out of business we could just setup broken mirrors around the world and you could do nothing about it? That makes no sense, surely you have a mechanism to withdraw broken mirrors from the rotation regardless whether they are yours or not? Please escalate this as you have effectively rendered hundreds of your clients with paying licenses so they cannot update as normal.

    Thanks,
    Will
     
  7. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    We cannot control mirrors we don't own. It's up to whomever owns those mirrors to ensure they are up to date. Usually big hosts do an internal DNS redirect to point requests for httpupdate to point to an internal mirror. So, if you wanted to spin up a broken mirror, unless you somehow pointed customers to use that mirror, it wouldn't be utilized, so you wouldn't be able to send cPanel out of business :)

    I've gotten with my SysAdmins, and I spoke in error earlier. This IS one of our mirrors, but it's not in rotation right now. They said it was one of our new FastUpdate mirrors, but it was taken out of rotation early this morning. You should be able to run UPCP and get a new mirror and it should update as normal. Please let me know if that works!

    Thanks!
     
  8. willkruss

    willkruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Jacob,

    1. Exactly...I knew it had to be your mirror otherwise why would it be appearing on all our VPSs just because it was the closest as we don't do any DNS redirects or run an internal mirror ourselves and I didn't think cPanel would have a system whereby your paying customers relied on 3rd party mirrors - sorry if I was a bit short I just felt the response was a lazy workaround instead of a fix :)

    2. Thanks for taking it out of rotation, that is what I required so our clients cPanel instances can update properly...as mentioned we literally have hundreds of them and don't have root passwords to a lot of them so the manual method wasn't an option for us.

    Cheers,
    Will
     
  9. willkruss

    willkruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Jacob,

    Unfortunately it still comes up when trying to run upcp on our servers. Can you tell me if it looks up mirrors each time, as all our servers seem to still come up with that mirror and then fail.

    Thanks,
    Will
     
  10. willkruss

    willkruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Jacob,

    The error is still occurring this morning. Is the mirror really out of rotation? If so, is it due to caching or something like that and when would our/your licensed cPanel clients expect it to auto-resolve?

    Thanks,
    Will
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you utilizing a /etc/cpsources.conf file on this system? If so, what's the contents of this file?

    Thank you.
     
  12. cPTerrance

    cPTerrance *nix Technical Analyst II / Migrations Specialist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The mirrors are cached within a file in /root/.MirrorSearch and /root/.HttpRequest

     
Loading...

Share This Page