The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to SU as user in the Wheel group

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chris-777, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. Chris-777

    Chris-777 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    New account, SSH'd into the server, user is in the Wheel group. I can't su, and I can't sudo.

    I verified that the root PW password is correct (even changed in WHM it to be sure).

    What'd I miss? :)
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have root SSH access still working on the machine to check the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file on there? Can you attach the contents to a post to show us what it has?
     
  3. Chris-777

    Chris-777 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't - I disabled root SSH as per one of the new user guides to securing it, so unfortunately I can't cat the file to post it up here. The root password obviously works, because I can log into WHM with it, I just can't hit it from the shell.

    I also tried adding a different account's user to the Wheel group and SSHing in, and can't su with that guy either.

    (Thanks for the reply!)
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's a good idea to ensure that you can login as the wheel group user and sudo su or su to root before disabling the root user as a precaution. Now, the only choice you have is to contact your datacenter, NOC or provider to ask them to re-allow root login and then troubleshoot it after they do until that user works.
     
  5. Chris-777

    Chris-777 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for this, Tristan. I'm all set.
     
Loading...

Share This Page