The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Understand the LVE Manager

Discussion in 'CloudLinux' started by darlanart, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. darlanart

    darlanart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    I wonder understand better the LVE Manager...
    I'm testing with a server trial license, with a "fake site", and make several requets to this:
    # ab2 -c 100 -n 100000 URL_TO_THE_SITE

    This command causes server the load average increase greatly, and apparently nothing happen with the performance. The server continue responding normally, at least for others basics operations. In the lvetop, the site occupies only the resources that were configured.
    How to learn and simulate the high load average realized will not influence this environment when it is in production?
     
  2. Mr.Check

    Mr.Check Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    of course you will see a high load average. The load average shows you the number of waiting processes, when a site reaches it's LVE limits there are some waiting processes. But when you limit the CPU time of a single website to 25 percent there are still 75 percent left for the other websites on your server - so the high average made my this single website will influence your environment in a positive way ;-)
     
  3. iseletsk

    iseletsk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Princeton, New Jersey, United States
    Are you running this command from the server itself? If that is the case, then ab tool itself is causing the load average to go up. Hitting just one site should not cause LA to increase greatly.
    Try running it from a different server/computer.
     
  4. darlanart

    darlanart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No. The ab command is already running from a remote server.
     
  5. iseletsk

    iseletsk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Princeton, New Jersey, United States
    Could you show actual numbers, like output from
    top & lvetop?
     
  6. darlanart

    darlanart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello Igor,

    At this moment I'm converting the testing server in a production server.
    After this, I'll test again and reply you.

    Thanks for attention!
     
  7. darlanart

    darlanart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello Igor,

    Strangely the server's behavior was much better now. I think the Apache configuration that I used earlier were influencing. Well, I'll keep watching, because until now the server will start rceber various fields and I will have a better understanding of these settings.

    Thanks a lot!
     
Loading...

Share This Page