The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Universal index

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by w00t, May 18, 2005.

  1. w00t

    w00t Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have my own server, and I want to do some work on it (terminating accounte, ect but when I do this Im predicting that the server load will go high, so I dont want any of my customers trying to access the server and have it crash. So I was wondering and anyone knew if I could put up a universal index. That would say something like "Sorry but the server is under upgrades" Or what ever.

    thanks
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    terminating the account is no big a load to the server. Unless it is a major upgrade that shuts down mail , mysql etc.. u never need to put this file, and in case you wanna do that, you can always go for a script that replaces the index files at the domains as thus.

    Also another easy method is to suspend all the domains and change the suspended page as "maintenence".
     
  3. w00t

    w00t Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply.

    I guess suspending the accounts will work.

    I dont know if this is unusuall but it takes over an hour for my server to terminate an account...:-/
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That's not normal.
     
  5. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    absolutely.. it isnt even a minute process for a standard server .. less you have a domain 80 Gb .. it might take some time to delete the stuff..
     
  6. w00t

    w00t Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    These are little accounts.....

    One hard drive is at 85% full and the other is at 97%, would that effect the speed of the deletion?

    Could someone tell me how to fix this problem?
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have you tried force updating cPanel to your current release tree, which can often fix such ills:

    /scripts/upcp --force
     
  8. w00t

    w00t Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for th advice!
    I updated Cpane/WHM I rebooted the machine and I tryed to terminate again...

    I started to delete the accounts faster, but it still takes a very loner time to completly terminate the account
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Do you have any local DNS resolution issues. For example, if you login to the root shell and type in:

    dig www.cpanel.net

    Does it come back straightaway with the reply or does it take a while?
     
  10. w00t

    w00t Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It does that instantly
     
Loading...

Share This Page