Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Unloading/Migrate MySQL to a separate VPS

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by pauloray, Aug 26, 2014.

  1. pauloray

    pauloray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My current Cpanel VPS has MySQL in a single machine. Due to high load, I want to unload mySQL and put it on a separate VPS, dedicated to MySQL.

    How do u migrate all MySQL data to a separate server so that there will be minimal downtime? What configuration should I need to do on my current Cpanel VPS to connect it to the Remote Mysql Server (separate VPS)?

    Is CSF enough to secure a MySQL Server?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,396
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    This is documented here:

    Setup Remote MySQL Server

    You will have to backup and restore the databases manually to the remote MySQL server, as that's not a transfer process facilitated by the cPanel software.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pauloray

    pauloray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks CpanelMichael. :)
     
  4. pauloray

    pauloray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do we need to re-configure MySQL in each of our clients' website to reflect the IP of the Remote MySQL server? Because currently, there website's database is using "localhost".
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,396
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will still be able to use "localhost". However, ensure you follow the instructions for "Make certain that the local server's hostname resolves" in the document referenced from my last post.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice