The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unpacking homedir.tar on desktop computer?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by thernes, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. thernes

    thernes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bodo, Norway
    Hi y'all

    Does anybody know a way to unpack the homedir.tar on a regular Windows machine so that all files are unpacked properly? We get many requests from people who only need a single file from their backups and we keep all the backups on harddrives connected to windows computers. I've tried both winrar and 7zip, but no go.

    thanks,

    T
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've used 7zip on multiple occasions to extract homedir backups as well as full website backups. When you say "unpacked properly" - what is happening that leads you to make the implication these tools are unpacking these files improperly?
     
  3. thernes

    thernes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bodo, Norway
    Hey David

    After checking more than one file, it seems that the first file I tried to unpack is somehow damaged. Strange thing is that all the backups of the same account have the same error.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm just looking into this myself as I've had a user contact me about the homedir not unpacking properly. I've backed up two of my own accounts, one is 1.74GB and the other is 230MB. Both backups unpack, but the the homedir is corrupt.

    cPanel 11.24.4-C32901
     
  5. Compubuster

    Compubuster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    homedir.tar seems to be corrupted when using winrar or 7zip to extract it 'on windows', while it extracts just fine on the server using the tar command.


    try : tar -xvf homedir.tar

    cPanel 11.24.4-R32603 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    REDHAT Enterprise 3 i686 on standard
     
    #5 Compubuster, Jan 8, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2009
  6. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, I also had two separate incidents where clients' desktop winrar gave an error that homedir.tar was corrupt while I could extract it fine on CentOS using tar command.
     
  7. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There is a bug in winzip that make it fail to extract symlinks that are made to absolute unix filesystem paths. If you delete the access-logs symlink before making the backup you should be able to extract it on windows. In the future we plan to add this symlink to the cpbackup-exclude.conf automatically as this bug has persisted in winzip for so long its not realistic to believe they will EVER fix it.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm aware of what you speak of Nick, but this is different. Those errors about simlinks can be ignored and the backup would unpack still.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    From winrar:

    From Winzip:

    I dug up a full backup from 11.21.2008 and tried to unpack it. That one unpacks the homedir without error using winzip or winrar, but inside there is no public_html dir. homedir.tar was 1.93GB, unpacked homedir/ is 312MB.

    Compressing public_html via File Manager to zip opens as expected locally after downloading.

    There's an issue here somewhere.
     
  10. tracktor

    tracktor Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey guys!

    I have the same problem to extract the homedir.tar in windows xp and windows vista.

    For example with WinRAR I get a error in the symlink "public_html (www --> public_html)"

    I tried with WinRAR, WinZIP, PeaZip, 7-zip, PowerArchive, and more.... all said "homedir.tar corrupt"

    regards!!
     
  11. MrFredbear

    MrFredbear Registered

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, I agree

    I just noticed something else....I just did a full Cpanel backup of an account 57mb and when downloading the downloaded file size is only 10mb, so there is still missing data

    It is still not fixed

    Greg V
     
  12. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try extracting the archive on a mac or a linux machine. I've yet to have a problem on either of these platforms.


    MrFredbear: Check the permissions on /bin/tar. If there is no homedir.tar file inside the cpbackup file, please open a ticket @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/ so we can figure out what is broken on the server that is generating the backups.
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi Nick, be happy to have you take a peek over here. I've generated a Full Backup from within the account and moved to a directory to unpack. I used the File Manager.

    Attached is the message when unpacking the homedir.rar

    cPanel 11.24.4-C33245
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can you check the error log?
     
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Unpacking the homedir via shell logged in with user it ends like this:

    [snipped previous above]
    ./cpanel3-skel/public_html/500.shtml
    ./cpanel3-skel/public_html/403.shtml
    ./cpanel3-skel/public_html/index.html
    ./cpanel3-skel/public_html/404.shtml
    ./cpanel3-skel/public_html/401.shtml
    ./cpanel3-skel/public_ftp/
    ./_usr_bin_psql_--version
    ./_usr_local_apache_bin_httpd_-v
    ./quota_-v
    tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
     
  16. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a ticket. We will need to look at the file.

    Thanks
     
  17. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ticket #363537

    SHould be enough details I think in there. ;)


    Thanks.
     
  18. pebu

    pebu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was about to do a posting about this, when I found this one.

    Same problem, basically. A full backup from cpanel: untar works on the server, but when downloaded to a windows system winzip complains about "Error reading header after processing 30 entries" and WinRAR just pops up an error about a corrupt archive.
     
  19. thernes

    thernes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bodo, Norway
    Is there a particular reason for this new "layout" for the backup files? Never had any problems with the old format, where the entire archive was packed out at once.
     
  20. neto

    neto Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same question :confused:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Unpacking homedir tar
  1. banimalk
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    332

Share This Page