The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unroutable domain problem AGAIN!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JPmorgan, Sep 19, 2003.

  1. JPmorgan

    JPmorgan BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When will these email problems end? We upgraded from 7.6.0 to 8.0.0 E65. Reports are coming in that people who could send our local domains mail just a couple of days ago are no longer able to send mail in some cases. After searching the logs we find;

    2003-09-17 09:29:34 19zfBM-0004gc-Ek ** xxx@xxxxcoveprinting.com R=fail_remote_domains: unrouteable mail domain "xxxcoveprinting.com"
    2003-09-18 14:30:40 1A06MI-0004aE-1J ** xxxx@xxxcoveprinting.com R=fail_remote_domains: unrouteable mail domain "xxxxcoveprinting.com"

    We looked and found that all their DNS records are correct so how can it be unroutable?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. reman

    reman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Is this related to POST ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am having the same problem. The dns entries are fine for the remote host i am sending to, but still exim refuses to send.

    Must be another one of those local problems. :shrug:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had this problem and the solution was addressed in a thread earlier this week (at least for my problem).

    Your server name: servername.domain.com

    If you have a website in cpanel for 'domain.com' on this box, make sure you didn't setup a subdomain in cpanel for 'servername.domain.com'. DNS entries are fine, but don't setup a cpanel subdomain. Once I deleted the subdomain all my default mailboxes on the server started working agian.

    :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. JPmorgan

    JPmorgan BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I dont have my servername setup as a subdomain nor is it userdomains.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is only happening for non-local deliveries and not for local ones.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. reman

    reman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Here is the message detail:

    Any ideas?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #7 reman, Sep 20, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2003
  8. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i have the same error, i notice is not for all the clients. just from some.
    carlos

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I also have this problem.....its getting VERY frustrating, and users are saying that its taking a long time for their mailboxes to open.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. rix

    rix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

    A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

    xxx@example.com
    SMTP error from remote mailer after end of data:
    host example.com [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]: 550 Error: ALC
    xxx@example1.com
    unrouteable mail domain "example1.com"


    Does anyone knows what 505 Error: ALC means ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is what I found. This is not exim problem. This is what one of my users did. He created a new pop mail box with the same user name as the default login.

    This confused the /etc/valaias/domain file and removed the default username from it. I added it back;

    *: somename

    Restarted exim and all mail started to be routed for that domain

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. Budwron

    Budwron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm getting the same errors not only it one client...

    Last time a look I was on the stable version, what's goin on ?
     
  13. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    this worked for me

    I had the same problem. I am not sure which step in this list fixes it but it fixed it for me.

    First if you have not upgraded to exim4
    /scripts/exim4
    /etc/init.d/exim restart
    /Scripts/sysup
    /scripts/upcp

    If you have
    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/mailperm
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkdefaultaddys --force
    /etc/init.d/exim restart


    Double check and make sure that your /etc/localdomains is not being erased. If it is reinstall /scripts/exim4 and for a quick fix run.
    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/mailperm

    Hope that this helps.
    wade
     
    #13 wadearnold, Dec 12, 2003
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2003
  14. Dataphd

    Dataphd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried the above and other things I have found posted on the fourms. Non of these are helping to solve this problem. Does anyone have any other ideas that I try to get this working?

    Thanks
     
  15. horrighs

    horrighs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    any update on this issue?

    I was able to get around the problem by switching the webserver from running as nobody over to a different user.

    I however dont like this as a long term fix. I have ran ever thing posted here to no success.

    Steve
    PeopleHost.com
     
  16. horrighs

    horrighs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    actually you know the timeframe this broke was about the same time as i upgraded the system kernal. i am running:

    2.4.22 #1 SMP

    is there a different version i could use for a Dual Xeon box?

    Steve
    PeopleHost.com
     
  17. EpicServers

    EpicServers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried the update aspect to exim4 and think I just broke something, now my update stuff wont work :(
     
  18. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I also tried this:

    It seems to be a work around, but doesn't fix the source of the problem offcours :-(

    Look like a php/PHP SuExec problem?????
     
  19. horrighs

    horrighs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well as a followup, some users are reporting FP publish problems now too.
     
  20. horrighs

    horrighs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok so here is the issue.

    If i change the user that apache runs as the php mail starts working just fine however then FP ext. and various other tools stop working.

    I know people have mentioned that its a PHP SuExec problem? can i shut that off?

    Is there a way to shut this feature off totally right now while a perminate fix is done?

    BTW i have upgraded to the latest release of Cpanel/WHM to no luck.

    Steve
    PeopleHost.com
     
Loading...

Share This Page