The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Up2Date Not Correctly Updating Kernels?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stephen_Strong, Mar 14, 2004.

  1. Stephen_Strong

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My server appears to be running 2.4.21, while the latest kernel version appears to be 2.6 ... I am using the correct Up2Date command ... so, why would it not be downloading the latest kernel?
     
  2. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Check whether autoupdate feature is enabled in /etc/autoupdate.d/autoupdate.conf file. Sometimes this may cause a problem.

    Regards,

    Bright:)
     
  3. mbarb

    mbarb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do not think that Red Hat has released a version of the 2.6 kernel yet as it is still very ney. look to RH's site for the latest version of the kernel for your OS
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    2.4.21 isn't an rpm kernel and if you don't currently have any RPM kernels installed up2date will probably miss it. Go grab the correct rpm and rpm -iv kernelname.rpm ( assuming your on redhat )
     
  5. Stephen_Strong

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How would I go about doing that? (I'm a newbie :( )
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What version of redhat do you have? How much ram? What kind and speed of CPU? Also, do you know what bootloader is currently in use?
     
  7. Stephen_Strong

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    RedHat Enterprise 3.0
    1GIG Ram
    Pentium 4 - 2.0GHZ

    I have no idea what bootloader is being used. How would I figure that out?
     
  8. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hmm.. im not sure where to get the redhat kernel for enterprise as I don't use it. However, if you can locatate it, get the regular kernel ( not the SMP or BIGMEM Kernel ) and to install:

    rpm -ivh filename.rpm

    A quick lazy way to check what boot loader you are using:
    cat /etc/lilo.conf
    cat /etc/grub.conf

    If one of those returns an error ( file not found, etc ) then chances are you are not using that bootloader.

    If you are using lilo, then after the rpm install above, "pico -w /etc/lilo.conf" and make the necessary changes. After that issue "lilo -v -v" and look for errors then "shutdown -rf now".

    If you are unsure of what needs to be changed, then do a search on this forum and on google for help. Messing with the kernel, especially if you don't know what you are doing, could render your server useless. I would suggest getting a local test box and fool around with that or hire someone capable of doing the work for you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page