The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Up2date problem - HELP !

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rego, Apr 12, 2002.

  1. rego

    rego Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I try to run up2date, I get the following error:

    Testing package set / solving RPM inter-dependencies...
    ########################################
    RPM package conflict error. The message was:
    Test install failed because of package conflicts:
    package quota-3.01pre9-3 is already installed

    Please help me overcome this error. I run RH 7.2, and have automatic update of cpanel.
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't understand how this is related to cpanel?
    Is there a problem here with your quota system?

    If that rpm is already installed, and you configured up2date to go out and grab anything possible, then this is a normal error - you can tell up2date to force all installs of packages it finds if you don't want to see the &already installed& error.

    At your own risk, of course
    ;)
     
  3. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds like you need to add it to your skiplist, since Cpanel seems to get quota packages just fine.

    Run up2date --configure

    Look for menu option pkgSkipList

    It should have a list that looks something like 'kernel*'

    Now add quotas to that list by selecting the menu option and add quota*

    Thats it ..
     
  4. rego

    rego Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Brad.

    I have already removed the kernel* to enable kernel upgrade. Hope it works fine...

    edit: Yes, it worked fine and my kernel is now upgraded.
     
  5. Skm74

    Skm74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is it secure to use up2date to update kernel?
     
  6. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I suppose updating the up2date rpm would fix this to, because it works difrently in RH 7.3 - it checks and registrers updatet packages. That's one of the things that makes 7.3 more convenient to use with WHM, you can also run the up2date when you like.

    A good time is to update kernel. I have done quite a few times, and never had any problems. Better do it sometime quiet of cause. If you wanna update the kernel you well need to edit /etc/sysconfig/rhn/up2date.conf or whatever - and remove kernel from the skiplist. But leave the old rpms then.
     
Loading...

Share This Page