Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Up2date problem - HELP !

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rego, Apr 12, 2002.

  1. rego

    rego Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    When I try to run up2date, I get the following error:

    Testing package set / solving RPM inter-dependencies...
    ########################################
    RPM package conflict error. The message was:
    Test install failed because of package conflicts:
    package quota-3.01pre9-3 is already installed

    Please help me overcome this error. I run RH 7.2, and have automatic update of cpanel.
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    I don't understand how this is related to cpanel?
    Is there a problem here with your quota system?

    If that rpm is already installed, and you configured up2date to go out and grab anything possible, then this is a normal error - you can tell up2date to force all installs of packages it finds if you don't want to see the &already installed& error.

    At your own risk, of course
    ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Sounds like you need to add it to your skiplist, since Cpanel seems to get quota packages just fine.

    Run up2date --configure

    Look for menu option pkgSkipList

    It should have a list that looks something like 'kernel*'

    Now add quotas to that list by selecting the menu option and add quota*

    Thats it ..
     
  4. rego

    rego Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Thanks Brad.

    I have already removed the kernel* to enable kernel upgrade. Hope it works fine...

    edit: Yes, it worked fine and my kernel is now upgraded.
     
  5. Skm74

    Skm74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Is it secure to use up2date to update kernel?
     
  6. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    I suppose updating the up2date rpm would fix this to, because it works difrently in RH 7.3 - it checks and registrers updatet packages. That's one of the things that makes 7.3 more convenient to use with WHM, you can also run the up2date when you like.

    A good time is to update kernel. I have done quite a few times, and never had any problems. Better do it sometime quiet of cause. If you wanna update the kernel you well need to edit /etc/sysconfig/rhn/up2date.conf or whatever - and remove kernel from the skiplist. But leave the old rpms then.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice