The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

up2date Problem of RH 9

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by allenhui, Mar 3, 2004.

  1. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can't update my os of RH 9 using up2date.
    I am just a newbie,i think i may get wrong on the updating.
    Can anyone teach me how to use the up2date?
     
  2. 3w-hostconcept

    3w-hostconcept Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    France (Mouans Sartoux)
    configure up2date to enable kernel upgrades by running this:

    up2date --configure

    Look for "pkgSkipList" and remove "kernel" from it by pressing on "C" to clear it so that kernel is NOT skipped.

    Run the following commands to upgrade the kernel:

    up2date --nox -f kernel
     
  3. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How about upgrading the sercuity patch and bugs package?
    What i need to do and how to type in the login and password for the up2date via ssh?

    Thanks for your kindly help!
     
  4. 3w-hostconcept

    3w-hostconcept Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    France (Mouans Sartoux)
    You will have to register for RHN first to gain access.

    The rhn_register and up2date packages contain the software necessary to take advantage of Red Hat Network functionality.

    To register, run "rhn_register". and up2date -u
     
  5. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After that,what command i need to type to process the update?
     
Loading...

Share This Page