The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upcp breaking named?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hosteurolive, Jul 21, 2006.

  1. hosteurolive

    hosteurolive Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    named Failed

    hi

    since the release update last night
    named is down on all my servers

    rndc: connect failed: connection refused

    Starting named: [FAILED]
    root@ns23 [~]#


    Jul 21 08:16:48 ns23 named[7330]: using 1 CPU
    Jul 21 08:16:48 ns23 named[7330]: loading configuration: failure
    Jul 21 08:16:48 ns23 named[7330]: exiting (due to fatal error)
    Jul 21 08:16:48 ns23 named: named startup failed
    Jul 21 08:22:54 ns23 named[7570]: starting BIND 9.2.4 -u named
    Jul 21 08:22:54 ns23 named[7570]: using 1 CPU
    Jul 21 08:22:54 ns23 named[7570]: loading configuration: failure
    Jul 21 08:22:54 ns23 named[7570]: exiting (due to fatal error)
    Jul 21 08:22:54 ns23 named: named startup failed


    I dont know what the config problem is...

    thx
     
  2. Salman75

    Salman75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    DNS Failures

    Yes, we are also seeing this on all servers running RHEL3.

    CPanel needs to check this issue immediately.
     
  3. heavypredator

    heavypredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    same here :/

    i have added ticket - waiting :/
     
    #3 heavypredator, Jul 21, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  4. Spearow

    Spearow Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    This is due to the rpm update scripts excluding php, but not squirrelmail, which depends on php. This prevents most rpm's from ever being updated. Removing the squirrelmail rpm and running "up2date -u" should resolve this.
     
  5. heavypredator

    heavypredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    error: package squirrelmail is not installed

    looks like its not there
     
  6. cwihost

    cwihost Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We are seeing this error here as well on almost all Cpanel boxes.
     
  7. hosteurolive

    hosteurolive Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    root@ns23 [~]# rpm -qa |grep squirremail
    root@ns23 [~]#




    exact
    no squirremail rpm installed...

    and I dont see the rapport between named and php....
     
  8. heavypredator

    heavypredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    it fixed one of the servers so if your is still not fixed find out why your up2date is not updating and try to fix it
     
  9. cjscott69

    cjscott69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Seeing this on our RHEL server too...

    EDIT: also don't have squirrelmail RPM installed
     
  10. proton2112

    proton2112 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just talked to a tech at my host (servermatrix) who got me fixed up right away. Apparently there was a bad update (DOH).

    He said something about changing my resolv.conf to point to a server other than myself so 'up2date -u bind-libs' could run. Then he changed resolv.conf back.
     
    #10 proton2112, Jul 21, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  11. janderk

    janderk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had the same problem and servermatrix fixed it for me (within minutes of filing a support ticket. Thanks guys). up2date did not work because the name server was down, on which up2date depended. Adding another outside working name server and made up2date work again. For those interested here is what their support ticket said:
    Jan Derk
     
    #11 janderk, Jul 21, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  12. *JPO*

    *JPO* Guest

    Hello, I have a few named's that wont start after upcp ran tonight. They were working and went down after midnight (upcp cron). Is there anybody having the same problem? If yes, did you fix it and how?

    Thanks a lot!
     
  13. Jeff-C

    Jeff-C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just encountered this as well tonight - adding squirrelmail* to the up2date skiplist #20 and running up2date solved it for me as well and named is now started again.
     
  14. cjscott69

    cjscott69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Running

    Code:
    up2date -u bind-libs
    and then

    Code:
    service start named
    did it for me. Thanks to those who posted the fix here!
     
  15. flash7

    flash7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Primary and secondary DNS down, I can't run up2date !!!!!!!!! :mad:
     
  16. monsterhosting

    monsterhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    This happened on one server and that fix worked w/o playing with the resolve.conf.

    I tried a manual upcp on another RHE server but it did not cause the problem so hopefully it is fixed.
     
  17. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    i seem to be stuck ..can't get named to resolve any update servers. I tried messing with resolv.conf but named won't run so it can't up2date
     
  18. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to make sure that the first nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf is a working DNS resolver. For example, it would be a good idea to use the DNS resolver that your datacenter provides. If you don't know what they are, you'll need to seek help from your server provider, unless it's your own hardware and OS, of course.

    It's a salutary reminder that you do need to have disperate nameservers defined in resolv.vonf incase the local resolver goes down, as it is in these cases.
     
  19. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    actually it is a good nameserver but I may have zone transfers off without trusted setup ..thanks for the tip Chirpy!!! I can fix it now .. 5am blurr makes an old brain think much slower

    fixed!!! thanks chirpy! a nice slutty resolver that will put out to anyone did the trick for me :)
     
    #19 rpmws, Jul 21, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  20. adamint

    adamint Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was in the sameboat as Janderk, got a message on my phone saying your servers down, came on. ip was up. dns was down.

    restarted it, it failed.

    logged a ticket with theplanet, was open less than five minutes
    and fixed with the solution Janderk posted.

    luckily it didnt affect to many people, but hopefully it wont happen again!
     
Loading...

Share This Page