The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upcp failing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by leonot, Jun 28, 2006.

  1. leonot

    leonot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have several instances of the following in my nightly upcp:
    (This is a redhat box out at EV1 - no help in the forums out there.)

    -----
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup
    PHP version file is up to date
    Ftp Quota Check v1.0
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/version [^] (RELEASE)....Unable to retrieve file
    Done
    This is the pure-ftpd installer release number for platform redhat AS-3
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/sbin/up2date", line 1174, in ?
    sys.exit(main() or 0)
    File "/usr/sbin/up2date", line 668, in main
    up2dateAuth.updateLoginInfo()
    File "up2dateAuth.py", line 151, in updateLoginInfo
    File "up2dateAuth.py", line 105, in login
    File "up2dateAuth.py", line 49, in maybeUpdateVersion
    File "/usr/share/rhn/up2date_client/up2dateUtils.py", line 228, in getVersion
    release, version = getOSVersionAndRelease()
    File "/usr/share/rhn/up2date_client/up2dateUtils.py", line 221, in getOSVersionAndRelease
    raise up2dateErrors.RpmError(
    up2date_client.up2dateErrors.RpmError: RPM error. The message was:
    Could not determine what version of Red Hat Linux you are running.
    If you get this error, try running

    rpm --rebuilddb
    -----

    rpm --rebuilddb does not help the problem.

    Any clues as to what might be causing this, and what I should be doing about it? It's been going on for months.

    Many thanks in advance,

    Leo
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    do a

    cat /etc/redhat-release

    from the command line
    and post the results

    it might help to know what OS you thing your running
     
  3. leonot

    leonot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cat /etc/redhat-release
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES release 3 (Taroon Update 7)

    Thanks!

    Leo
     
  4. leonot

    leonot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone?

    Can anyone at least tell me what the risk is I'm looking at? What's not happening because of this error?

    But any idea on how to fix it would be greatly appreciated.

    Leo
     
  5. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    run below to rebuild your rpm dadabase and then update cpanel


    rm -fv /var/lib/rpm/__*
    rpm --rebuilddb -v -v
     
  6. leonot

    leonot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After doing that I get the exact same error. It has no effect.

    Other thoughts?

    Thanks,

    Leo
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I would opeb a ticket with ev1 (since they are the licence holder for the redhat license) and have them install up2date again
     
Loading...

Share This Page