The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upcp hangs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dmgens, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. dmgens

    dmgens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Folks,

    I'm having trouble with my upcp cron taks hanging.
    the last message is:
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup

    each time I get that I go through the process list ans clear the hung tasks.

    I check the forums and one suggested that yum maybe the problem and this led me to try:

    yum update

    which also hung.

    so what do I do now?
     
  2. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Have you installed/updated anything on your server recently?

    Theres probably an error in your /etc/yum.conf file by sounds of it.
     
  3. dmgens

    dmgens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My yum.conf file

    I don;t have any idea if this file is correct, can you tell me?

    [main]
    exclude=apache* courier* exim* httpd* mod_ssl* mysql* perl* php* proftpd* pure-ftpd* spamassassin* squirrelmail*
    cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    keepcache=0
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    pkgpolicy=newest
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1
    obsoletes=1
    # Don't check keys for localinstall
    gpgcheck=0
    plugins=1
    metadata_expire=1800
    # Changed this because some mirrors go down and then
    # re-trying takes forever.
    timeout=60

    # PUT YOUR REPOS HERE OR IN separate files named file.repo
    #

    This appears to me to be truncated, is it?

    If so how do I recover?
     
  4. dmgens

    dmgens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    WOW iit fixed itself

    the whole problem seems to have disappeared!

    ran upcp today and it worked

    suspect that the virt host provider caught problem and took care of it:)
     
  5. freedman

    freedman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    for future reference, people experiencing this problem should check RPM for problems.

    rpm --rebuilddb
    or
    rpm --initdb

    usually solved the problem for a while.
     
Loading...

Share This Page