The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upcp stalled(don't beat me, I tried to search)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by schwim, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there guys,

    Before you tar & feather me, the search system tells me that my search is under 3 words, regardless of the length of my search term.

    I've waited in hopes that it would finally kill the process, but it's not. upcp has been in action for a very long time now. When looking at the processes, I find:

    9806 (upcp) /usr/bin/perl / cPanel Update (upcp) - Master
    9904 (upcp) /usr/bin/perl / cPanel Update (upcp) - Slave

    1) Which process do I want to kill
    2) How do I kill it?

    Thanks in advance for any help you can provide, and I'm sorry for the question I'm sure has been asked, but I tried searching.

    thanks,
    json
     
  2. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Do you see anything else running below it that looks weird, usually they are ganged pretty close on a "ps ax". I just did an upgrade to Stable 11 on a freebsd box and it sat on one thing for about 20 minutes but then took off running.

    How long has it been just sitting?
     
  3. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there Jimbo, and thanks for the reply.

    Mine's been running for just over two weeks now.

    thanks,
    json
     
  4. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    :confused: Your upcp update has been running for two weeks without ending ????
     
  5. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that is correct. Every night I get an email stating that it's already running, and I should let it finish or use --force to force a new update.

    I just don't know how to resolve the issue.

    thanks,
    json
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    From a post here somewhere.

    Or go to WHM, Show Current CPU usage, find 9904 and click it. Then click kill. Then do 9806

    Should work.

    The term kill process comes up with many results. If you use one word under 3 letters add a wild card.

    kil*

    Even gives me results on the forums.

    Google, 2 mil.
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=kill+running+process+linux

    Only thing I'm not sure of is why you have two running and why its been running for weeks without a trouble ticket sent to support?

    Good luck.
     
  7. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there infopro, and thanks for the reply.

    Unless I'm mistaken in regards to the implementation, I seem to have a problem printing the jobs currently running. Here is my output, which I think you'll agree is lacking ;)

    My search provides this error. As you can see, I've met the three word requirement.

    I can kill a process. I need to know which processes are the necessary process to kill, and was wondering if I had to do it a certain way for the WHM scripts.

    Ours is not to wonder why, but to copulate and multiply. :D

    thanks,
    json
     
  8. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I killed both instances(master & slave) of the process, and will see how it goes.

    thanks,
    json
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  10. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    killall upcp

    usally fixes that for me :p
     
  11. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks very much for that infopro. That should solve a lot of my search problems, as I'd seen it more than once. I've used vbulletin a lot, and never came across that problem.

    I killed the processes, and it did run last night, but It's got more errors than usual. Mail:SPF is normal, but now PerlMagick is failing it's install.

    At the end of my upcp, was this:

    and not the normal end up upcp, so something's gone wrong there.

    Could you tell me what I need to do to shut down all updates for cPanel & WHM?

    thanks,
    json
     
  12. koolcards

    koolcards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    Have you tried forcing an update?

    /scripts/upcp --force

    You can set WHM Main >> Server Configuration >> Update Config to "Never Update"
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Instead, you should set to manual updates, and do them when you can sit there and keep an eye on the update as it happens. Via CLI or thru WHM. I've done it that way myself for years.

    You might also want to check this list to make sure all is ready for cPane11.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=66166



    schwim at this point, you might do best to contact cPanel now and let the pros take a look for you. Sounds like you've got amess on your hands.
     
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  15. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there koolcards, and thanks for the reply.

    I set it to manual, per infopro's suggestion, but I'm wondering: If I want to update manually, do I now need to start updates via CLI, or is there a WHM panel for updating maually?

    thanks,
    json
     
  16. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there infopro,

    I set it to manual, after allowing it to run one more time. This time, I didn't receive any errors(other than the errors that everyone is ok with, like mail::spf).

    I've already got cPanel 11, but probably should not have allowed that to happen, as I'm on Fedora 4.

    I'll monitor everything for another 24 hours and see what happens.

    thanks,
    json
     
  17. koolcards

    koolcards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    the setting doesn't matter too much as long as it isn't doing it when your back is turned. :cool:

    Leave it on Manual and, whenever you're ready, use WHM Main >> cPanel >> Upgrade to Latest Version . If that gives you trouble still, try the command line "/scripts/upcp --force"
     
  18. schwim

    schwim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry for the reduncancy, but running that will update WHM/cPanel and security, or is updating security a separate system?

    thanks very much for your time.
    json
     
  19. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It explains (briefly) in the update config area of WHM. I have all 3 set to manual. And do upgrades via WHM as well. Running CURRENT here (many do) for years now with no real problems worth a mention.
     
  20. colet

    colet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    possible cause of a stalled upcp?

    Hello,

    I've also got an update that's been stalled for over a week. I vaguely remember getting a message that exim couldn't be updated because of a custom config. I'm wondering if this might've stalled the update. Do you recall anything similar?

    --
    Cole
     
Loading...

Share This Page