The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Update all clients DNS Zone records at once

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by beau, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. beau

    beau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    About a week ago, my main reseller account was revised
    to dedicated IPs; my registrar NSs were also updated.

    However, all hosted sites resolve to the old zone records.
    What are the steps to modify them, preferably all at once,
    to the updated dns zone records?
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    If you would like to change the A record in all the DNS zone files, execute the following:

    to change the name servers in the zone files, execute

    Once done, restart the named service:

     
  3. beau

    beau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    madaboutlinux - thank you.

    I've never used what looks like 'command line'
    (wouldn't know where to start).

    Is there a function in WHM for a reseller to do
    this via an icon to Modify for all users?
     
  4. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think the best option for you is doing it via WHM >> Multi Account Functions >> Change multiple sites' IP address
     
  5. beau

    beau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you InstaCarma_Tech

    Nothing shows at the bottom of that option
    page allowing selection of either IPs and/or
    Nameservers for mass changes.

    Perhaps our host chose to disable that
    set of options. We sent an email
    instead.

    Again, thank you.
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forget the first part of what you were told there as the first poster apparently missed that you are a reseller.

    InstaCarma_Tech's suggestion is really your only option as a reseller outside of manually updating each site one by one but if you don't have access to the "multiple site" functions then you are pretty much S.O.L. in that case other than manually updating each site one by one though I suspect you may be locked out of certain parts of that too.

    Who is your host and why are they updating all your IP addresses?

    Actually that is a bit of a curious question because ICANN regulations actually prohibit the arbitrary deployment of dedicated IPs so there could be an issue there if there if your client accounts where previously shared and don't have a specific need to be moved to dedicated such as SSL, etc

    In any case though, if your host were to make broad changes like that, I would think they would do the rest for you as well or at least they should else I would probably be finding myself a new host. That's my 2 cents.
     
  7. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In this case i want to change only for reseller account

    there is a reseller account name xyz on our server & 30 cpanel accounts under that reseller we have given different NS to that reseller account & now i want to change NS for that xyz reseller account & 30 cPanel account under that
     
  8. vanessafan

    vanessafan Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1


    do you need to increment a serial number and if so how do you do that?
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you have to increment a serial number. Simply changing zone files without updating the SOA record is not advisable.

    Also, before you make any changes, back up the named folder entirely on the machine:

    Code:
    cd /var 
    cp -R named named.backup110527
    Replace the IPs and or nameserver names in the .db files as previously indicated. You would then have to find a method to increment the serial number for all the zones using a bash script or doing so manually.
     
Loading...

Share This Page