Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Update and restart server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by samuelmf, Apr 4, 2018.

  1. samuelmf

    samuelmf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Perú
    Hi i peformed a kernel update on my server and on my whm i get a yellow message that i must restart yo apply kernel and software updates.

    My question is: that kernel update has been updated server software too? (Like apache, PHP and MySQL)
     
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    Only kernel updates require a reboot, everything else like Apache, MySQL, Exim, etc, etc, just requires a restart of the actual service.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. samuelmf

    samuelmf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Perú
    Thanks for reply but exactly i want to know if i restart the server it updates the mentionated software
     
  4. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thank you @Jcats that is correct you restart to boot into the new kernel and the software updates on their own shouldn't require a reboot.

    If you confirm that you are using the most up to date kernel and you're still seeing that message please feel free to open a ticket with us using the link in my signature so that we can look into the issue further.

    If you do open a ticket please update this ticket with the number so that we can track the ticket's progress as well.

    Thank you!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice