Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Update Apache => make: *** [libphp5.la] Error 1

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by s_rage, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. s_rage

    s_rage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Greetings,

    New user of WHM here. I first used "Tweak Settings" to install MySQL 4.1 instead of the default 4.0. Next, I went to "Update Apache" to install PHP 5.0.4 instead of the default. As the update script was running, I got the following output:

    configure php-5.0.4...(--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql=/usr --with-mysqli=/usr/bin/mysql_config --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --enable-versioning --with-zlib).... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done

    make -j 4 php-5.0.4...(clean).... Done

    make -j 4 php-5.0.4....... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done

    make: *** [libphp5.la] Error 1

    make php-5.0.4...(install).... . . . . . Done

    make: *** [libphp5.la] Error 1

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started

    --
    Did some searching but can't figure out what's causing the error. Anyone here happen to know? As I said, I'm a beginner to CPanel/WHM and Linux in general, so if I didn't give enough information, please let me know.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. s_rage

    s_rage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Just to update, I was able to solve the problem (although I don't know what I was actually changing):

    I found the following PHP bug report and followed the steps in the most recent post:
    http://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=29860

    The steps were:
    cd /usr/lib/mysql
    rename .a .a_old *.a
    rename .la .la_old *.la

    Then run configure/make/make install

    Then rename these files back.

    cd /usr/lib/mysql
    rename .a_old .a *.a_old
    rename .la_old .la *.la_old

    Like I said, not sure what this was actually doing, but I was able to get PHP 5.0.4 installed with the same options that had failed before.
     
  3. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ZapX.net

    ZapX.net Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Sidman, PA
    Hmm, very useful, but there is no way to not need to do this manually? I am not even sure where the php source is kept.

    I am curious when this bug will be fixed.
     
  5. ZapX.net

    ZapX.net Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Sidman, PA
    Any word on this yet? I noticed a new cpanel release, i wonder if it's been fixed in this release.

    I'd really like to upgrade to 5.0.4 soon :)
     
  6. yd7

    yd7 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I was running into the same problem trying to upgrade to PHP 5.0.4 using /scripts/easyapache. I tried the workaround mentioned above, and everything worked! All I did was rename those libraries, run /scripts/easyapache, then rename the libraries back to the original.

    Thanks for the info!

    My server info:

    Operating system Linux
    Kernel version 2.4.21-27.0.4.ELsmp
    Machine Type i686
    Apache version 1.3.33 (Unix)
    MySQL version 4.1.11-standard
    cPanel Build 10.2.0-RELEASE 67
     
  7. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    i have the same problem on this .. could some one please help with the easy way to upgrade to the new php5 ?

    Thankyou
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. SabreWolf

    SabreWolf Registered

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Brighton UK
    It works without needing the fix using /scripts/easyapache on:

    CentOS release 3.5 (Final)
    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-R82
     
  9. jamslam

    jamslam Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'd just like to confirm that I was having the same problem, and this fixed it. I renamed the files, updated apache via WHM, and renamed the files back again. Worked like a charm.

    PHP 5.0.4
    MySQL 4.1.13

    This also got the MySQL and MySQLi extensions working simultaneously.
     
  10. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It works for me also.
    Thank you!..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. nadavoid

    nadavoid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    another solution - /scripts/upcp

    I've been going over a new cPanel server, and tweaking all my configurations. In the process, I ran into this same issue. The posted solution worked for me.

    However, I also did this:
    WHM -> cPanel -> Upgrade to Latest Version (/scripts/upcp), which upgraded me to the latest stable build. (Today that is 10.8.2-R83)
    This reinstalled MySQL libraries.
    Now, recompiling Apache/PHP gives no errors, WITHOUT doing the renaming dance.

    I like this much better, since it is a one-time fix.

    Could anyone else try this and see if it solves the problem for you too?
     
  12. nudist

    nudist Registered

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    i've got the similar error:

    configure php-5.1.4...(--prefix=/usr --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --with-gd --with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local --with-png-dir=/usr --with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6 --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql=/usr --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --enable-versioning --with-zlib).... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    make -j 1 php-5.1.4...(clean).... . Done
    make -j 1 php-5.1.4....... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    make: *** [ext/date/lib/parse_date.lo] Error 1
    make php-5.1.4...(install).... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    make: *** [ext/date/lib/parse_date.lo] Error 1
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    PHP version file is up to date
    Executing /scripts/postbuildapache (if exists)...Done
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started

    anyone know how to do about this?
     
  13. coderoyal

    coderoyal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi,

    Where can I find the "configure/make/make install". What folder is this configure folder located at?

    Also, do you do this step after you run /scripts/easyapache, or before?
     
  14. airtime

    airtime Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I just wanted to say that this fix worked for me also ..

    Great Job S_rage
     
  15. buro9

    buro9 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Worked for me too :)
     
  16. apodigm

    apodigm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice