The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

update apache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Sheldon, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi,

    ok the option to 'Reset Apache Config to Default (last resort)'

    will that wipe your httpd.conf and named files? like so you have to recreate acccounts..

    or what?
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I believe that just gets rid of most of the apache modules is all. I doubt very much it would clear the virtual hosts and zones.
     
  3. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    yes ok but does it recreate the virtual host's?

    Sheldon
     
  4. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I just did the option. It deletes the virtual hosts too. Blah. I updated Apache and it crashed and wouldn't startup, so I did the lil Reset Config and it now shows the default WHM page that says there is no website configured at this address.... Aggrivating shit..
     
  5. zentity

    zentity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    To rebuild your apache VirtualHosts again if your conf is empty, just run

    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf > httpd.conf.new

    cat httpd.conf.new >> /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    Or to test it first

    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf > /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf.new

    The go to the bottom of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf (VirtualHost section)

    and add

    Include /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf.new

    Then restart apache, if all is well, just cat the httpd.conf.new >> httpd.conf and remove the Include line.

    Restart apache :)
     
    #5 zentity, Aug 21, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2004
  6. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I got it by going in to SSH, renaming httpd.conf.backup to httpd.conf and the httpd,vhost or whutever back to the name without the ,. I will post whut I did in a few. The good thing about that wiping is that it makes a backup of the httpd.conf... Sweet..
     
Loading...

Share This Page