The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Update Client Started" ... and? and? and?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by trakwebster, Feb 27, 2003.

  1. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know if something is broken or if everything is lovely, but I'm mystified.

    On the WHM News panel that automatically displays when WHM comes up, a recent item says:

    "cPanel Secuirty Updates
    If you have disabled updates, you have not recieved 2 critical updates. You should Click Here to Update your /scripts. Once that is completed, Click Here to update cPanel. "

    Sounded good to me, so I clicked to 'Update my /scripts'.

    A second Netscape window opened.

    The address is
    https://www.blah.com:2087/scripts/updated

    The window has a title bar that says
    "Results of your request"

    In the window it says
    Update client started

    And that's it. The window just sits there forever, and apparently is doing nothing. Shouldn't it be saying something? If not,why bother opening the window?

    Have my scripts been updated? Should I go on and click the cPanel update? Or would that bring death and destruction?

    One wonders, yes one wonders.

    Anybody know if this is right or wrong, or what to do?
     
  2. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Or just click cPanel update on the left side menu. Had that same problem and that worked just fine. Just double check and re-save your update prefs to avoid the bug with ppl getting the release version instead of the stable build.
     
  3. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I've done that ... and?

    Hi, thephantom,

    I did go in with ssh and typed /scripts/updatenow, and the script took only a couple of seconds to run. It said:

    receiving file list ... done
    wrote 87 bytes read 5637 bytes 11446 bytes/sec
    total size is 2596802 speedup is 453.75

    then it gave me back my prompt.

    What does this mean? What's been done? What were the 87 bytes written?

    What have I accomplished? I dislike being an ignorant dork, but it seems to be an accurate description of how much I know about this script and what I'm doing here.

    Could you fill me in a little? I would be grateful.
     
  4. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried Donna's method ... worked nicely!

    Dear Ms. Donna,

    I tried your method:

    First in Server Setup I brought up and re-saved my prefs for the Stable release;

    Then in Cpanel 5 section I clicked on Cpanel Update and confirmed.

    Then everything was far more satisfying. Line after line scrolled by, telling me how many packages were just peachy, and then it was downloading some stuff, decompressing some stuff and installing some stuff. There were lots of lines with exciting little dots. Then it told me it was very happy, but that I needed to close the browser so it could restart itself. I apologised and closed the browser.

    When I opened the browser again, the version had changed from 5.3 to 6.0, and in cPanel there was a new IP Deny Manager in the Tools menu.

    Much more better!

    Thanks for the tip!

    But I'm still quite curious what that short business was with the 'wrote 87 bytes read 5637 bytes 11446 bytes/sec' and if anybody knows please tell me.

    Thank you for your kindness.
     
  5. gic

    gic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Re: I tried Donna's method ... worked nicely!

     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    speedup is 453.75

    Anyone know what's up with that? Doesn't relate to the Server and mine was only 64.89. :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page