Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Update PHP to 5.6.27 with EasyApache4. Running PHP-FPM

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by dogdog, Oct 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. dogdog

    dogdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yesterday I got an email from CPanel advising me to upgrade to PHP 5.6.27. I upgraded EasyApache4 to the latest version today then removed an old version of PHP in the PHP configuration settings, in the hope that EasyApache would upgrade my PHP 5.6.26 installation to 5.6.27.

    However I still seem to be running PHP 5.6.26. (When I put a php file with the PHPInfo() function on any of my domains it tells me that PHP 5.6.26 is still running.)

    I have PHP-FPM running on all my domains. Am I missing a step, please?
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you restart the FPM process (/scripts/restartsrv_apache_php_fpm) do you get the correct PHP version?
     
  3. dogdog

    dogdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the suggestion but no,that didn't work I'm afraid.
     
  4. dogdog

    dogdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've just realized that the build date for PHP, as listed in the output of the phpinfo() function, is 3 weeks ago. From what I've read on here the only way to force a rebuild of PHP in EA4 is to remove the PHP version then add it again later, but I have installed a few extra PHP modules so I don't want to have to recreate the same build later if I can avoid this drastic step. Are there any other options?
     
  5. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Has cPanel release 5.6.27 for EA4?
     
  6. cPStacy

    cPStacy Technical Writer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    83
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The EasyApache 4 RPMs did not go out yesterday. We updated EasyApache 3, but not EasyApache 4.

    We're expecting to push the EA4 RPMs later this afternoon.

    When the update is available, we'll post both here on the forum, and in the change log: EasyApache 4 Change Log - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    Sorry for the confusion!
     
  7. dogdog

    dogdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK that explains it. Someone there sent out an email yesterday with the following line:
    "SUMMARY
    cPanel, Inc. has released updated RPMs for EasyApache 4 on September 20, 2016, with PHP versions 5.6.27 and 7.0.12."
    So you can understand why I thought I should have PHP 5.6.27.
     
  8. cPStacy

    cPStacy Technical Writer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    83
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh, absolutely!

    We DID originally plan to release it yesterday but had to delay it another day. Evidently our email blast system didn't fully cancel the scheduled email like it was supposed to. Sorry for the inconvenience there!
     
    dogdog likes this.
  9. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Curious as to why it says September 20, 2016
     
  10. cPStacy

    cPStacy Technical Writer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    83
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Probably my fault. I must have missed that date when updating the CVE notice template.
     
Loading...

Share This Page