Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Update Process Failed with 255 Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Barnmother, Mar 21, 2019.

  1. Barnmother

    Barnmother Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thompson Falls, MT
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    When trying to complete an update I am receiving the following message that is causing it to fail. Any ideas on how to fix this problem. This is on a hosted server with me doing the management and I have not encountered this in the past 10 years of running this website.

    The "/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updateuserdomains" command (process 29388) reported error number 255 when it ended.
     
  2. Barnmother

    Barnmother Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thompson Falls, MT
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    The cPanel & WHM update process failed for the following reason:
    Maintenance ended; however, it did not exit cleanly (256). The following events were logged: "scripts/updateuserdomains". Review the update logs to determine why the update failed.



    Update log preview:
    ...
    ...
    [2019-03-21 01:10:24 -0400] E [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updateuserdomains] The "/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updateuserdomains" command (process 29388) reported error number 255 when it ended.
    ...
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/migrate_local_ini_to_php_ini --run --verbose` in 0.321 seconds
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] Processing: Ensuring an "Active" MySQL profile is set
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Finished in 0.035 seconds
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_mysql`
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_mysql] "check_mysql" will complete in the background (process ID 29522).
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_mysql` in 0.206 seconds
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] Processing: Checking CloudLinux installation
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/cloudlinux_update`
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/cloudlinux_update` in 0.158 seconds
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] Processing: Updating plugins data cache
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/refresh_plugin_cache`
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/refresh_plugin_cache` in 0.182 seconds
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] Processing: Ensure cpanel-plugins yum repo exists
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] - Finished in 0.028 seconds
    [2019-03-21 01:10:44 -0400] Processing: Checking End Of Life for current version.
    [2019-03-21 01:10:45 -0400] - Finished in 0.259 seconds
    [2019-03-21 01:10:45 -0400] Processing:
    [2019-03-21 01:10:45 -0400] Maintenance complete.
    => Log closed Thu Mar 21 01:10:45 2019
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    => Log opened from cPanel Update (upcp) - Slave (27948) at Thu Mar 21 01:10:45 2019
     
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,254
    Likes Received:
    479
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Barnmother

    Based on your profile's access level of Website Owner I am assuming you don't have root access - to resolve this you'd need to contact your provider if that is indeed the case. If you do have root access to the server when you run the following what is the output:

    Code:
    /scripts/updateuserdomains
    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Barnmother

    Barnmother Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thompson Falls, MT
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I do have root access. However no experience with CP so where do I enter the above?
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,254
    Likes Received:
    479
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @Barnmother

    That's a command you should be able to copy/paste when logged in as the root user over SSH.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice