The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Update RPM Package Installer in whm? How?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by x-man, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Somebody know how I can update RPM Package Installer (force update) in WHM???
    I have big problem, I can`t install RPM from WHM, when I click Install RPM and select ImageMagick WHM don`t want install, ONLY DELETE IMAGE MAGICK from list RPMs...
    This is big problem for me...something is not good with rpm.

    My OS is CentOS 3.4

    Also, I have two box with cPanel and I see some difference between "RPM Package Installers" in one box (who work without problems) I have "Ignore Dependicies" and "Force Install (required if reinstalling a package)" but in box #2 I don`t have that, something is not good...

    I hope that somebody have solution...

    Thanks.
     
  2. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now in /var/log in file rpmpkgs I saw this:

    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - (-30982)
    error: db4 error(-30982) from dbenv->open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery
    no packages
    rpmdb: fatal region error detected; run recovery

    What now, this is problem, how I can fix this?

    When I use:
    rm -f /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    rpm -vv --rebuilddb

    all look fine ( no errors) but don`t want work, I can`t find what can be problem...
     
  3. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What version of cpanel and what build, whats uname -r and cat /etc/*release* print and does the package manager work from command ?
     
  4. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.1.0-R30

    2.4.21-27.0.1.ELsmp

    # cat /etc/*release*
    LSB_VERSION="1.3"
    CentOS release 3.4 (final)

    Hm, from command, I try to delete ImageMagick installation
    rpm -e ImageMagick

    and that work, Image magick come back on list in WHM and I again click to install Image Magick from WHM and I think that WHM (RPM Package Installer) install ImageMagick but I don`t know why delete them from LIST RPMs, also, why in this WHM I don`t have "Ignore Dependicies" and "Force Install (required if reinstalling a package)"....

    Write some command if you want and I`ll check result...

    Thanks.
     
  5. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now I again check file /var/log/rpmpkgs and now I have list of RPMs in that file:

    4Suite-0.11.1-14.i386.rpm
    ElectricFence-2.2.2-15.i386.rpm
    GConf2-2.2.1-4.i386.rpm
    MAKEDEV-3.3.12.3-1.centos.0.i386.rpm
    MyODBC-2.50.39-12.i386.rpm
    MySQL-bench-4.0.24-0.i386.rpm
    MySQL-client-4.0.24-0.i386.rpm
    MySQL-devel-4.0.24-0.i386.rpm
    MySQL-embedded-4.0.24-0.i386.rpm
    MySQL-python-0.9.1-6.i386.rpm
    MySQL-server-4.0.24-0.i386.rpm
    MySQL-shared-4.0.24-0.i386.rpm
    MySQL-shared-compat-4.0.24-0.i386.rpm
    ORBit2-2.6.2-1.i386.rpm
    Omni-0.7.2-4.i386.rpm
    Omni-foomatic-0.7.2-4.i386.rpm
    PyXML-0.7.1-9.i386.rpm
    SysVinit-2.85-4.2.i386.rpm
    etc.

    No more error message...but same thing in WHM RPM Package Installer, don`t have options like in WHM for other my server...and also when I install some RPM, delete that RPM from list, don`t change listing to "rpm name (reinstall)"...

    Is this something between CentOS and WHM? On my server #1 I have RedHat 9 and work fine...

    thanks
     
  6. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have attached images on who you can see what I write here:

    1.gif = RPM Package Installer from server #2, on this image you can see ImageMagick on list and also you can see that I don`t have "Ignore Dependicies" and "Force Install (required if reinstalling a package)" options...

    2.gif = RPM Package Installer from server #1, here you can see how look when I have ImageMagick installed on this server and also you can see that I have "Ignore Dependicies" and "Force Install (required if reinstalling a package)" options...

    3.gif = RPM Package Installer from server #2, this is how look after ImageMagick installation, no more ImageMagick on list!!

    I think that this is problem in CentOS/cPanel relationship, don`t like RH9/cPanel relationship, somebody here use CentOS, how this look on your box?

    Thanks.

    Sorry if my english very poor :(
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.gif
      1.gif
      File size:
      4 KB
      Views:
      55
    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      5.4 KB
      Views:
      42
    • 3.gif
      3.gif
      File size:
      4.3 KB
      Views:
      34
  7. Harryhood

    Harryhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gamehenge
    Try using yum to install Imagemagic.
     
  8. Harryhood

    Harryhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gamehenge
    That is the same for me. I figured it has something to do with the difference between Centos using yum and redhat using up2date. Where up2date has a "force" options and yum does not.
     
  9. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nice, that is not only on my server...I hope that somebody from cPanel can write here something for that, what/why is this differenet between CentOS/RH9....
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Harryhood has dicovered and explained the difference and reason for you.

    Ultimately, you're going to have to learn how to use the OS update tools from shell.
     
  11. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, thanks.

    But can you tell to me why WHM don`t want list RPM when I install that RPM like Image Magick, I test it and I see that WHM install image magick (work fine) but also delete from list, that is because I can`t reinstall that RPM or...? That is because I use CentOS/YUM?

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page