The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updated Apache, now Urchin doesn't update

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by GoWilkes, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I updated Apache to v3.2.0 build 4936, and now it appears that Urchin has stopped updating for all of my accounts.

    I re-built Apache, with no impact. Has anyone else had this problem?
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Try "/scripts/runweblogs" script and see if it makes any difference.
     
  3. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I ran the script, and received the following error:

    [2010-01-04 05:34:56 -0500] WARNING: (7037-512-2832) Unable to retrieve local file listing

    [2010-01-04 05:34:56 -0500] DETAIL: /usr/local/apache/domlogs/[mydomain.com] : Permission denied

    [2010-01-04 05:34:56 -0500] Processing profile: [mydomain.com]

    [2010-01-04 05:34:56 -0500] MESSAGE: (7065-323-1004) Log file does not contain any data

    [2010-01-04 05:34:56 -0500] DETAIL: /usr/local/apache/domlogs/[mydomain.com]

    [2010-01-04 05:34:56 -0500] Urchin 5.7.03 (redhat_ent3) finishing: 20100104 05:34:56


    ERROR: (7018-516-312) Data request is out of range.
    DETAIL: Resource temporarily unavailable


    (I changed the actual domain to [mydomain.com], and remove a few lines that just showed the timestamp)


    This occurs with all of the domains on the server, so it's not just isolated to the one. It looks like the program doesn't have permission to open the files located at /usr/local/apache/domlogs/. The files do exist; the one that I just ran this script for has a filesize of 0, but another has a filesize of 98kb. Permissions are at 640.

    Any suggestions? Thanks again,

    Jason
     
    #3 GoWilkes, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hi,

    It seems that this error is related to Urchin. Please check if the logs files exists and not empty.
     
  5. trochia

    trochia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Greetings, I have also updated WHM/Apache as I needed to recompile PHP...and Urchin has stopped recording for me.

    The /scripts/runweblogs command is for a single account-domain..

    So somewhere...ther must be a way to get the cron running again for all accounts as things were please?

    Thanks !!
     
  6. Bono_

    Bono_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In new cpanel domlogs are owned by root:wheel and if urchin is running under same user as web server usually nobody:nobody it doesn't have permissions to see logs.

    I changed domlogs directory to nobody:nobody and urchin 6.602 works fine.

    cd /usr/local/apache
    chown nobody:nobody domlogs

    Another **** up by new version, I really needed that right before Christmas.
     
  7. trochia

    trochia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for the reply, just did the commands...

    And this will do it?

    Yup, I learned a long time ago not to update...but somehow I screwed up (or it took over) as all I wanted to do was recompile Apache to add MYSQLi

    Somehow?...It took over..

    Thanks again, and happy new year.
     
  8. Bono_

    Bono_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It worked on my system, like I said problem is that new cpanel changed ownership of domlogs directory, it is no longer same as user running web server. So with that update it would break urchin's setup because when installing urchin setup asks you under what user webserver is rand.
    It is not in any way related to your recompile of apache.
     
  9. trochia

    trochia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you again..

    Now? Well I know last year I could SSH in and check

    urchinctl status

    [/usr/local/urchin/bin]# ./urchinctl status >>/usr/local/urchin/bin = urchinctl

    And it would report..

    Now I am getting nothing? As
     
  10. Bono_

    Bono_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Try to start it again: urchinctl start and see what happens. There is no reason it should stop working after you just changed domlogs ownership. That step would only fix errors while processing.

    Do also: "ps aux |grep urchin"

    While back I had also problem with cpanel and urchin that cpanel always slayed my scheduler but I guess that is not case here.
    That is why I needed to install urchin to different location to fix that annoying issue.
     
    #10 Bono_, Jan 6, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page