The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updated Apache, WHM still shows old version?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by GoWilkes, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK, so here's a weird one!

    I updated Apache from 2.0.63 to 2.2 via WHM's EasyApache. Everything succeeded, I rebooted, and when I look at EasyApache it says that my current version is 2.2.

    But, if I click on Apache Status, it shows 2.0.63!

    I'm pretty sure that I'm really running 2.0.63, because CSF shows it, and # httpd -v shows it, too. But... why??

    I actually went through 3 compilations (checking Suhosin and mod_security, then compiling a 3rd time without them), so I don't think that another recompile will help.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So when you do this in EasyApache, it shows Apache 2.2?

    Code:
    /scripts/easyapache --version | grep Apache/
    It should return something like this:

    Code:
    # /scripts/easyapache --version | grep Apache/
    Server version: Apache/2.2.19 (Unix)
    Otherwise, if it is showing Apache 2.0.63 instead, then it isn't updating for some reason. Please submit a ticket at that point in WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature. It might be due to having conflicting Apache binaries due to a prior installation of httpd rpms on your system. That's the main reason I could see that happening unless the EasyApache build itself is failing.
     
  3. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, that just showed 2.0.63. It was only when I went to /scripts/easyapache that it showed 2.2, but in retrospect, that's showing the last build profile, not the last build.

    But still, I went through compiling 4 times now and it showed a success at the end with no errors. I did it three through WHM, and once through /scripts/easyapache, and each time it didn't update, so it looks like EasyApache itself is failing.

    What's the next step in trying to force it to update?

    I'm using EasyApache v. 3.5.5, if that helps.

    Thanks, Tristan,

    Jason
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Jason,

    The next step is to open up a ticket, since I can only speculate what might be the cause. It would be fastest to open up a ticket at this point.

    Thanks!
     
  5. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'll try compiling again tonight, and if it still doesn't work then I'll submit a ticket. Thanks, Tristan.
     
Loading...

Share This Page