The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updated but urls with double slashes don't work now.

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by wiggonator, Sep 19, 2015.

  1. wiggonator

    wiggonator Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was running Apache 2.2 & PHP 5.3 for a number of years and then I recently upgraded to Apache 2.2 & PHP 5.5 using EasyApache. For some reason now my websites with a double slash in them don't work.
    Basically it was a mistake in the configuration. We have some software that uses this to get post data:
    http://domain.com//something/something

    It worked for years like this. But with the update the double slash doesn't work. We have hundreds of sites that are affected.

    Can anyone offer a fix that I can use where I can retain the double slashes and still keep the post data following to the URL (which goes to the software, so the controller in the code can interpret the post data).

    Thanks, any help a million times appreciated!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you verify the specific error message that's generated in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when this happens? Is the double slash converted to a single slash in the URL, or does it simply fail?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Nurs1927

    Nurs1927 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In my case, Google webmaster Tools give me 404 errors with double slash, but urls with double slash works fine and redirect to url with single slash.

    For example:
    Google error 404: website.com/forum//text/text/
    When click, the url have a 301 redirection to: website.com/forum/text/text/
    and works fine.

    I don´t undersatand the problem. I tested by days but don´t find the solution. .htaccess seems correct. I didn´t change anything.

    Aditional Info:
    - The double slash is only in Forum: website.com/forum// not in other folder, for example website.com/blog
    - website.com/forum always redirect to website.com/forum/
    - The subfolders in forum always redirect to slash, for example website.com/forum/login --> website.com/forum/login/
    - Other folders in website don´t redirect to slash. For example: website.com/blog or website.com/gallery ...
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you verify if the issue is only related to the report from Google, or is there any issue with the URL itself loading when you test independently?

    Thank you.
     
    Nurs1927 likes this.
  5. Nurs1927

    Nurs1927 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And, How can I test independently?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could test this manually by accessing the URL in your web browser. For instance, are you experiencing any issues with access attempts to these URLs, or is the only issue with the report from Google Webmaster Tools?

    Thank you.
     
  7. Nurs1927

    Nurs1927 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,
    manually I can access without problems. It seems only a issue whit the Google Webmaster report.
    But I don´t understand why Google detect two slashes
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I suggest reporting this issue to Google's support team for additional clarification on this warning message.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Updated urls double
  1. osirion
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    516
  2. radeonpower
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    189

Share This Page