The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updated to 8.7.0 R26 can't login to WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by outie, Jan 27, 2004.

  1. outie

    outie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just updated to 8.7.0 R26 from 8.5 and I can no longer access WHM with my root password. Cpanel logins are fine.

    I tried restarting service cpanel restart couple times already but it didn't fix anything. Does anyone know what's going on? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Try restarting exim and cpop. Also do service cpanel restart. For some reason when you update now webmail, cpop and exim take up 100% of the cpu.
     
  3. TheSpidre

    TheSpidre Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here. (httpd aswell) The box is running fine thoug and the load is under 0.5 with 3 processes using 100%
     
  4. outie

    outie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have restarted cpanel many times. I also restarted exim.

    My load is normal, nothing is taking up 100%. When I try to login to WHM, I just got access denied when I entered the correct root password 3 times.

    [edit] I just found out that cpanel is not accepting my root password to access client cpanel accounts either. Strange. I can still ssh with my root pass though.

    Any idea? Thanks.
     
    #4 outie, Jan 27, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2004
  5. splat

    splat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
    Same problem here....

    I did the same as aboe with the sme results.... can't access WHM.

    Is there anyway to roll back the cPanle version? I can ssh into the box and all seems to be working except WHM access. (At least as far I can tell)
     
    #5 splat, Jan 27, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2004
  6. splat

    splat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
    User Name: root

    I just found out that the user name for logging into WHM with this release must be "root" (withouth the apostrophes).

    I don't get it!@$#%&@

    but it works.
     
  7. outie

    outie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You are right! It has to be root. It's quite strange that no one pointed this out.
    Thanks!
     
    #7 outie, Jan 27, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page