The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updatenow is unable to download.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by electric, Mar 24, 2014.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    I am getting the following error when trying to upgrade from 11.42.0.22 to 11.42.0.23:

    I have no idea how to fix this. I tried pinging "httpupdate.cpanel.net" and it seems to be ok:

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Been happening to me all night...the downloads just hang.

    Finally worked about 5 minutes ago.
     
  3. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It's just this one server that is not working. All my other servers are able to be updated with no problem.

    The failure email I received says:

    ??
     
  4. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No idea I'm afraid. I had this issue in the past where it would work on all our servers in one datacenter but not in another, but if all the other servers in the same datacenter are working except for the one, I haven't a clue.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,477
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  6. driverC

    driverC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am having the same problem. There seems to be something wrong. Otherwise we wouldn't all be having the problem at the same time...

    I also can not use phpmyadmin. After a long time of loading it shows a blank page. In MySQL I can not see any activity from phpmyadmin. Maybe this is related.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,477
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  8. driverC

    driverC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To those of you that can not get a connection to Cpanel's download servers: Are you in the BurstNET datacenter?

    They seem to be restricting traffic somehow since they are migrating datacenters. This is the second physical datacenter migration within 7 months. They must be in SERIOUS trouble.
     
  9. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, this is a server in the Miami BurstNET datacenter.

    :(
     
  10. driverC

    driverC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seems like they are in serious trouble. According to a thread on WHT they are in debt and have not paid several bills. They have had an eviction notice and are now shutting down their "flagship DC" in Dunmore:

    webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1358774&page=40
    BurstNet Relocation - Web Hosting - Page 40 - Web Hosting Talk

    The reason for the failing connections has to do with the tunneling (same IP address working in two different datacenters) because they are transporting servers. There is a command that would allow you to connect to Cpanel again but I guess we can just wait until the transfer is complete.

    I for one am glad to be having a remote backup and will be starting to move stuff to another company immediately.
     
    #10 driverC, Mar 29, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2015
  11. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    We're using them to host one of our nameservers, which has an IP that is used by about 100 of our resellers for their custom nameservers. :(

    Switching to a different provider would be a nightmare, since all our resellers would need to re-register their custom nameserver with a new IP.

    I was not aware the Miami datacenter was affected by their datacenter moves. I thought it was only their other datacenters?
     
  12. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yes! Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!

    This command worked for me to fix the problem:

    (Replace "venet0" with your NIC interface. I am using a VPS, so it's virtual...)
     
  13. Nitin Jadhav

    Nitin Jadhav Registered

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nashik India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In our case, the problem was with "/etc/redhat-release" file.
    The file was empty.

    Manually added the release info in the file which fixed the issue with cpanel update.

    Nitin
     
Loading...

Share This Page