Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Updates failing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by J-Mac, Mar 19, 2018.

Tags:
  1. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have followed other post regarding this issue and when I run command awk '$4=="E"' /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.1517552581.log

    I get the following:

    [2018-02-02 01:26:23 -0500] E [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/hackcheck] The “/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/hackcheck” command (process 21040) reported error number 2 when it ended.
    [2018-02-02 01:26:47 -0500] E Pre Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256).

    Then I tried;

    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/hackcheck update --auto

    and received:

    Can't locate Cpanel/RpmUtils.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Cpanel::RpmUtils module) (@INC contains: /usr/local/cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/524/lib64/perl5/cpanel_lib/x86_64-linux-64int /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/524/lib64/perl5/cpanel_lib /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/524/lib64/perl5/5.24.1/x86_64-linux-64int /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/524/lib64/perl5/5.24.1 /opt/cpanel/perl5/524/site_lib/x86_64-linux-64int /opt/cpanel/perl5/524/site_lib) at /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/hackcheck line 10.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/hackcheck line 10.

    What should I try at this point?
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try installing a module that is missing Try executing the command "cpanel install Cpanel::RpmUtils" and see if that helps..
     
  3. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    192
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Before you resort to installing individual modules yourself, run
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/upcp --force
    This should force a re-install of all the cPanel/WHM files and dependencies, and you might find that it will sort itself out.
     
  4. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, but I have tried to force the update before my original post which is where I am now. I will attempt to install the missing module and see if that works.
     
  5. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks 24x7server, but that is not a command. Can you advise that actual command to do this?

    Thanks.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,734
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you verify if you've excluded any files from cPanel updates? You can check with a command like this:

    Code:
    cat /etc/cpanelsync.exclude
    Thank you.
     
  7. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, this is the reply I receive;

    /scripts/hackcheck
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/hackcheck
    /scripts/hackcheck

    Please advise
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,734
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The existence of those lines in /etc/cpanelsync.exclude prevents updates to those files during the cPanel update process. This is what's leading to the error message you provided. Is there a particular reason you excluded those scripts from cPanel updates? Removing those entries should solve the issue.

    Thank you.
     
  9. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, there is no reason I know of. I had a company dealing with server management some time agao and they may have excluded that, but not sure why. How do I remove that from the exclude?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,734
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can edit the file with a command like this:

    Code:
    vi /etc/cpanelsync.exclude
    Or;

    Code:
    nano /etc/cpanelsync.exclude
    Delete the lines and then save the changes.

    Thank you.
     
  11. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, I have done that and am now trying to force the update. Will advise.
     
  12. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okay have forced the update and now when I try yum -yum update as per the security advisor I get the following:

    Error: Package: perl-Git-1.7.1-4.el6_7.1.noarch (@updates)
    Requires: git = 1.7.1-4.el6_7.1
    Removing: git-1.7.1-4.el6_7.1.x86_64 (@updates)
    git = 1.7.1-4.el6_7.1
    Updated By: git-1.7.1-9.el6_9.x86_64 (updates)
    git = 1.7.1-9.el6_9
    Available: git-1.7.1-8.el6.x86_64 (base)
    git = 1.7.1-8.el6
    Error: Package: git-1.7.1-9.el6_9.x86_64 (updates)
    Requires: perl-Git = 1.7.1-9.el6_9
    Installed: perl-Git-1.7.1-4.el6_7.1.noarch (@updates)
    perl-Git = 1.7.1-4.el6_7.1
    You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
    You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest

    I did try rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest but no change. What do I need to do?
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,734
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Check to see if there's a "perl*" entry on the "exclude=" line in the /etc/yum.conf file. If so, remove the "perl*" entry on that line, save the file, and then try updating again to see if the issue persists.

    Thank you.
     
  14. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okay I don't understand, but I am getting a permission denied error. Please advise.
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,734
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You will need to open the /etc/yum.conf file via SSH as root with a text editor such as "vi". EX:

    Code:
    vi /etc/yum.conf
    Look to see if there's an entry for "perl*" on the line that starts with "exclude=", and if so, remove the "perl*" entry and save the file. Here's a third-party guide on how to use VI:

    How to Use the vi Editor

    Thank you.
     
  16. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks so much. I have edited the file and am running yum -y update now. Will advise.
     
  17. J-Mac

    J-Mac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That fixed it! Thanks for everyone's help.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page