The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updating GeoIP Plugin

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pphas, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. pphas

    pphas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there,

    When using Awstats (version 6.7) I have a fair share of people that are not tracked by the GeoIP plugin. In fact, for certain websites the largest part of the visitors if from an unknown country. I feel this is because the GeoIP has not been updated in a while. Could this be the case? How to check? And how to update? I've been browsing the forum and the internet, but I couldn't find more information.

    Thanks,
    Paul
     
  2. pphas

    pphas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anybody any idea?

    The only thing I found is that the Geo IP plugin is mentioned in the Awstats config file. It says:

    LoadPlugin="geoipfree"

    This geoipfree plugin is located here:

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/plugins/geoipfree.pm

    Yet, I am unclear on how to update.

    Anybody?

    Thanks.
     
  3. pphas

    pphas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nobody? :-(
     
  4. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'll try :)

    If you look in /home/username/tmp/awstats.username.com.conf

    You can find this

    # If you want to have information on domains/countries visitors, you must ask
    # AWStats to make reverse DNS lookup (if not already done in your log file).
    # If you set DNSLookup to 1, don't forget that reverse DNS lookup decrease
    # seriously AWStats time processing.
    # If you keep DNSLookup to 0, all hosts will be reported by the IP addresses
    # and not by the full hostname of visitors. Domain/Country chart will also
    # report all visitors from a domain/country "Unknown".
    # Possible values: 0 or 1
    # Default: 0
    #
    DNSLookup=0

    So it looks like you need to go to
    Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings
    And go to Stats Programs >> Awstats Reverse Dns Resolution and tick the box for this and save it.

    It probably will not show up until the next stats run..
     
  5. pphas

    pphas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks rhenderson!

    However, this is what I read about DNS Lookup in the Awstats manual:

    So, if I understand correctly, DNSLookup is an alternative to geoip lookup. For performance reasons, I prefer geoip lookup, but I need to update the database. So what I am looking for is a way to update this database, or at least to see the version. Do you have any idea? Or am I mistaken??

    Regards,
    Paul
     
  6. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    look and see

    nano /usr/local/cpanel/etc/awstats.conf

    If you have this line

    LoadPlugin="geoipfree"

    If so it is using it, the file is located at

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/plugins/geoipfree.pm

    Researching now how to update the file
     
    #6 rhenderson, Dec 1, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page