The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updating PHP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anto, Mar 13, 2002.

  1. anto

    anto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Let say, I download http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea and
    run it.

    Does it mean PHP is updated to 4.1.2 or do I have to update
    it separately?

    Sorry for a dumb question.
     
  2. kwimberl

    kwimberl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It should update it. If you go to a user's CPanel, it now shows the current version of PHP on the first page.
     
  3. anto

    anto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:5ef549d617][i:5ef549d617]Originally posted by kwimberl[/i:5ef549d617]

    It should update it. If you go to a user's CPanel, it now shows the current version of PHP on the first page.[/quote:5ef549d617]

    Thanks for your reply.

    I just run it. And now my PHP is 4.1.2.

    Cheers,
    ;)
     
  4. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did it overwrite any of your config fiels when you did this? Did it corrupt any of your virtual accounts?
     
  5. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Total I ran the new apache build and jsp all within 30 minutes a few weeks ago. Not one problem at all.
     
  6. anto

    anto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No. It works perfectly.

    However, make sure you restart the server after that.
    Unless apache will fail.
     
  7. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When I try to run it, it hangs at
    /usr/include/bits/stdio.h:121: warning: control reaches end of non-void function
    make[1]: *** [lxdialog.o] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/buildapache/lxdialog'

    I just wgeted the file, chmoded it to 0777 and typed
    ./buildapache.sea - anyone know why it doesn't work?
     
  8. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:3fe7758427][i:3fe7758427]Originally posted by Diatone[/i:3fe7758427]

    When I try to run it, it hangs at
    /usr/include/bits/stdio.h:121: warning: control reaches end of non-void function
    make[1]: *** [lxdialog.o] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/buildapache/lxdialog'

    I just wgeted the file, chmoded it to 0777 and typed
    ./buildapache.sea - anyone know why it doesn't work?[/quote:3fe7758427]

    Reinstall your glibc-devel rpm
     
  9. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I looked on rpmfind.net and other places, I couldn't find an rpm install for Redhat6.2 i686

    glibc-devel

    Know where I can get it?
     
  10. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nevermind, found ftp://updates.redhat.com/7.0/en/os/i686/glibc-2.2-12.i686.rpm
     
  11. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually.. Sorry.. lol, ftp://updates.redhat.com/7.0/en/os/i686/glibc-2.2-12.i686.rpm is a 404. And that was a direct link from redhat to.. weird.. Know anywhere else?

    actually, i dont even think a glibc update exists for redhat 6.2 i686, because the other one was for 7.0.. :(
     
  12. gordita

    gordita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    did you get it fixed?

    I need to run buildapache again so I can enable SuExec and I get that same error message you did:
    make: *** [lxdialog.o] Error 1
    make: Leaving directory `/home/tmp/ApacheBuild/buildapache/lxdialog'
    :(

    Did you get yours fixed?
     
  13. gordita

    gordita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    FIXED

    oh... okay... I see.. here's all that needs to be done to fix it:
    rpm -Uvh --replacepkgs glibc-devel-2.1.3-23.i386.rpm
    I was looking for a new version of the package to install but it only needs to have the old package removed and a fresh one put in.
     
Loading...

Share This Page