The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updating WHM nameservers doesn't change account DNS?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by clse945111, Jun 2, 2014.

1. clse945111

clse945111 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

I'm quite new to managing a full WHM/cPanel server myself, as I'm still mainly doing reseller stuff.
    So I have setup 3 DNSonly servers in 3 different locations, and I'm currently using 1 full WHM/cPanel server to test (I will be using more full WHM servers in the future, now I'm just testing)

Now I'll give each server a name:
    DNSonly1, DNSonly2, DNSonly3, and fullWHM (total 4 servers in this case)

my new nameservers domain:
    DNSonly1Domain, DNSonly2Domain, DNSonly3Domain

old nameservers:
    oldDNS1, oldDNS2

Domain names used to test:
    DomainA and DomainB

So I have faced this problem while testing:
    My old nameservers (oldDNS1, oldDNS2) were already being used by fullWHM,
    DomainA was already present in WHM (As a hosting account), and then I changed the nameservers to DNSonly1Domain, DNSonly2Domain, DNSonly3Domain.
    DomainA now doesn't work, and when I do a DNS check (on Pingdom and intoDNS), they show something like this:
    "FAIL: The following nameservers are listed at your nameservers as nameservers for your domain, but are not listed at the parent nameservers (see RFC2181 5.4.1). You need to make sure that these nameservers are working.If they are not working ok, you may have problems! "

So it looks like although the nameservers have been changed to the new ones (DNSonly1Domain, DNSonly2Domain, DNSonly3Domain) through domain registrar, fullWHM somehow hasn't changed the nameservers associated with DomainA.