The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade APF?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostseeker, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. hostseeker

    hostseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do you upgrade APF firewall to the latest version?

    I am currently using version 0.9.3-rev3

    Do you just reinstall over the old version or what? I could not find how to upgrade in the APF docs.
     
  2. fusioncroc

    fusioncroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K.
    i upgraded apf and rkhunter on all of my servers today with rkhunter its easy just re download and reinstall
    but with apf make sure to backup conf.apf and deny_hosts.conf and allow_hosts.conf
    and once you've reinstalled just copy them back
     
  3. hostseeker

    hostseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay thanks!

    I am assuming there are no changes then in the new conf.apf file if you just copy the old one back?
     
  4. picoyak

    picoyak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Unless something's changed drastically you can usually get away with your old conf.apf, but sometimes there are changes to conf.apf, so I'd double-check. So usually I untar the new ver, then cd into the files directory and set up conf.apf,conf.ad fresh.

    Then I'll run the install script and make sure all is good, including my vnet settings. But I've not ever seen the format for vnet change.
     
  5. hostseeker

    hostseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, I did the upgrade as suggested and all works fine.
     
  6. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    whats new in this apf release ?

    i mean i am running 0.9.4 for a long time now and i didnt find any new version on apf website
     
    #6 bman, Dec 30, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2004
  7. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I'd advise against using an old conf for any of the newer major / minor versions ( even new builds ). Its easy enough to just re-configure, and there are often changes, such as new options and options gone.

    And with regard to new releases, check out the change log on the apf web site and compare it to your version file in your /etc/apf
     
  8. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  9. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    In the next few weeks im going to code a module for whm that allows you to install apf very easily, since apf is the only thing that im lazy doing :(. Might also extend it to general server hardening (eg. disabling root logins etc), if you would be intestered in a copy once its done dont hesitate to contact me.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
  10. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    It is always best to backup /etc/apf/conf.apf and /etc/apf/ad/conf.antidos. They will be overwritten with the upgrade with any new features that Ryan has added. Once you have it upgraded you can then just insert your old ports into the new conf files. I have found this more reliable than putting in your old conf files.
     
  11. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I upgaded to the lastest apf twice already (two releases) but it never removed the old directories. Is this normal? Am I supposed to remove the old directories manually?
     
  12. JP-HOST

    JP-HOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Roscoe, IL, USA
    Yes.

    You can, or with the latest apf it will import your conf.apf settings into the new install. It also makes a backup of the previous installed version and places it in the /etc directory.
     
  13. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just recently upgraded to the new APF version, and it ported my settings over to the new conf.apf.

    Backup as always though just in case.
     
Loading...

Share This Page