The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade Cpanel to Latest Version

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by blweb, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am using Centos 3.4 and I set the update to CURRENT

    When I click on that Link in the WHM, it sits at 0% for forever, it never does anything.


    I am also having a problem with exim which I hope the upate fixes.
    Exim processes seem to get stuck and use 100% cpu from time to time and I must restart Exim to get rid of them.


    Someone please help
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    use

    /scripts/upcp in ssh

    if you think you may have a an update that did not complete
    /scripts/upcp --force

    and make sure you have no errors? Have you configured Yum?

    if you have errors they will show when updating
     
  3. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried script in ssh and it hangs instantly, I left it for obver 30 mins and it didnt do a thing.

    ctrl-c made it say this

    Found hostname to be www.blwebsolutions.com, which resolves to 38.119.84.240

    then it hangs again


    then I had to hit ctrl-c like 4 more times, then the rest of the script finished fine
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I would fix your hostname first



    It is important to choose a hostname that you will not be using for any account. You should choose something that will be socially accpetable, as it will appear in all mail headers. Your hostname must be a FQDN. In english, A hostname should consist of a name and a domain name. All valid hostnames should have 2 dots in them. Hostnames should never begin with "www".
     
  5. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Fixed hostname and will try again. WIll keep you uodated.
     
  6. psychodreams

    psychodreams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    help

    Help I am trying the same thing heres what i get during

    /scripts/upcp --force

    Found hostname to be hosting.somewhere.biz, which resolves to **.**.***.*** "masked"
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup
    PHP version file is up to date
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    SENT ipcheck email
    send to CONTACTAIM (2) [2]
    send to CONTACTEMAIL (3) [2]
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/version ( RELEASE)....Done
    This is the proftpd installer release number for platform centos 3.4
    Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
    Server: Centos-3 - i386/i686 - Addons
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/caoslinux/centos-3/3/addons/i386/he aders/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://www.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/cAos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header. info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://mirror.cs.wisc.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/caosity.org/centos-3/3/addons/i386 /headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://acmserver.cs.ucr.edu/centos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    failover: out of servers to try
    Error getting file http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/hea ders/header.info
    [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error >
    Resetting proftpd to cPanel Defaults and Installing the Latest Version
    --00:16:27-- http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/proftpd/centos/3.4/proftpd--.i38 6.rpm
    => `proftpd--.i386.rpm'
    Resolving diff.cpanel.net... failed: Host not found.
    Failed to download http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/proftpd//centos/3.4/proftpd --.i386.rpm .. using source instead
    Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
    Server: Centos-3 - i386/i686 - Addons
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/caoslinux/centos-3/3/addons/i386/he aders/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://www.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/cAos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header. info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://mirror.cs.wisc.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/caosity.org/centos-3/3/addons/i386 /headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://acmserver.cs.ucr.edu/centos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    failover: out of servers to try
    Error getting file http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/hea ders/header.info
    [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error >
    --00:16:28-- http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/proftpd/src/proftpd--.src.rpm
    => `proftpd.src.rpm'
    Resolving diff.cpanel.net... failed: Host not found.
    Building RPM....Done
    Failed to download http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/proftpd/src/proftpd--.src.r pm at /scripts/ftpup line 255.
    checkyum version 20.0
    Using Mysql4
    Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
    Server: Centos-3 - i386/i686 - Addons
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/caoslinux/centos-3/3/addons/i386/he aders/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://www.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/cAos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header. info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://mirror.cs.wisc.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/caosity.org/centos-3/3/addons/i386 /headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://acmserver.cs.ucr.edu/centos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    failover: out of servers to try
    Error getting file http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/hea ders/header.info
    [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error >
    Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
    Server: Centos-3 - i386/i686 - Addons
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/caoslinux/centos-3/3/addons/i386/he aders/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://www.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/cAos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header. info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://mirror.cs.wisc.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/caosity.org/centos-3/3/addons/i386 /headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://acmserver.cs.ucr.edu/centos/centos-3/3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    failover: out of servers to try
    Error getting file http://linux.mirrors.layeredtech.com/centos/3/addons/i386/hea ders/header.info
    [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error >
    Testing connection speed...(this could take a while)....Done
    Three usable mirrors located

    Looking up www.theshell.com
    www.theshell.com
    Unable to locate remote host www.theshell.com.
    Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

    lynx: Can't access startfile http://www.theshell.com/pub/CPAN/
    Skipping Broken CPAN mirror www.theshell.com

    Looking up mirror.hyperian.net
    mirror.hyperian.net
    Unable to locate remote host mirror.hyperian.net.
    Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

    lynx: Can't access startfile http://mirror.hyperian.net/CPAN
    Skipping Broken CPAN mirror mirror.hyperian.net

    Looking up cpan.mirrors.nks.net
    cpan.mirrors.nks.net
    Unable to locate remote host cpan.mirrors.nks.net.
    Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

    lynx: Can't access startfile http://cpan.mirrors.nks.net/
    Skipping Broken CPAN mirror cpan.mirrors.nks.net

    Looking up mirror.sit.wisc.edu
    mirror.sit.wisc.edu
    Unable to locate remote host mirror.sit.wisc.edu.
    Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

    lynx: Can't access startfile http://mirror.sit.wisc.edu/pub/CPAN/
    Skipping Broken CPAN mirror mirror.sit.wisc.edu
    Ran out of working CPAN mirrors. Please contact cPanel Support at cPanelPerl.pm line 209.
    GD installed ok
    Sync Source: http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/RELEASE/scripts
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/.cpanelsync.loc k.......Failed
    ...Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/.cpanelsync.bz2 .......Failed
    ...Done
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    Bad arg length for Socket::pack_sockaddr_in, length is 0, should be 4 at /usr/li b/perl5/5.8.6/i686-linux/Socket.pm line 373.
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, your problem has nothing to do with the previous thread posts. That said, it's apparent that domain names aren't resolving on the server.

    You should check that whichever nameservers that you have listed in /etc/resolv.conf are actually up and running and answering queries.
     
Loading...

Share This Page