The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade stuck

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PCZero, Nov 2, 2016.

Tags:
  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I am in the midst of upgrading from 58.32 to 60.15 and the upgrade process is stalled. The progress indicator is at 89% and the task windows has the following.


    *** Done legacy_cfg_installer ***
    *** Running import_old_support_cfg ***
    *** Done import_old_support_cfg ***
    *** Running corecleanup ***
    *** Done corecleanup ***
    *** Running install_cpaddons ***
    *** Done install_cpaddons ***
    *** Running register_hooks ***
    Registered 0 hooks
    *** Done register_hooks ***
    *** Running build_userdata_cache ***
    *** Done build_userdata_cache ***
    *** Running fixnamedviews ***
    *** Done fixnamedviews ***
    *** Running fixrndc ***

    It has been stalled for about 30-45 minutes. How do I proceed without screwing up my server?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,617
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I think I might leave it go a bit longer depending on the server if it was me. You could check via command line to see if the process is still running. I've had a few dog slow servers take a lot longer than normal in the past for whatever reason.
     
  3. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks IP. It has been almost two hours now. I have a ticket opened for this but I have password auth disabled and I have no idea how to turn that back on form command line so that the techs can get into the box.
     
  4. cPLevey

    cPLevey Technical Analyst Supervisor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey @PCZero

    Was your ticket resolved? Would you mind providing the resolution here in the forum thread as well?
     
  5. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes it was indeed resolved thanks to the great work of the cPanel support team. It appears that it was a VERY simple issue. The upgrade was actually completed in rather quick order (15 minutes or so) for a major update like this. The tech viewed the logs and everything was exactly as it should be and there is nothing at all going on indicating that there were any issues with the update.

    In the end what we deduced is that there was a loss of communication between the server and my local machine so that even though the process completed successfully, the update indicator on my system halted at 89%.

    I am glad that the tech were able to figure this out. I did not want to take any action while the screen I had was (falsely) suggesting a lock up so as to avoid making matters any worse.
     
    cPanelMichael and Infopro like this.
  6. cPLevey

    cPLevey Technical Analyst Supervisor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Awesome news! Thank you for your update and for letting us know.

    I'm certainly glad to hear that cPanel Support was able to assist and that the upgrade completed successfully!
     
  7. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks. I have to tell you that I really am impressed with the 60.x release so far. I did post a brief review in another thread and made one or two minor suggestions. (The one about the text being below the icons rather than to the right of them would be really good. It has been convention for decades to do it that way.) I am looking forward to learning the ins and outs of the new features as it grows.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,617
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Probably shouldn't even mention this, but now that you're updated proper it can't hurt I guess. ;) In the past when I've got an update that appears stuck, right clicking the right frame in WebHost Manager where the update is/was running and choosing reload frame, will reconnect you if its dropped.

    Happy to hear you're now on the latest and greatest cPanel has ever rolled out. :cool:
     
  9. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks for the heads up. I was not sure f reloading the frame would merely reconnect or would restart the update process with one process already running. 60.x is looking good. I can tell that everyone involved spent a lot of time working on it.

    What do you think of my two suggestions? 1) Automatically collasping the left menu structure when you the user clicks the HOME or WHM link in WHM and 2) Moving the text below the icons rather than to the right of them? The first seems logical to me and the second follows a long standing standard convention for displaying icons and text.
     
  10. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I do also like the idea of making individual styles disabled so that we can allow clients to switch styles but limit them to our custom styles.
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,617
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I like both ideas! As always, a Feature Request is the best way to go. :cool:
     
  12. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I just submitted three feature requests.

    1) Move text to below icons.
    2) Automatically collapse the left hand menu.
    3) Allow individual styles to be disabled.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  13. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    BTW on the auto-collapse menu concept, the click on HOME or WHM should also clear any search. As it is now it leaves the left hand menu at whatever condition it happens to be. The click on HOME or WHM should put the left hand menu back at its default state.
     
Loading...

Share This Page