Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Upgrade to 11.36.0.2 to 11.36.0.4 - Problems were detected - RPM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PPNSteve, Feb 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Code:
    Problems were detected with cPanel-provided files which are RPM controlled.
    If you did not make these changes intentionally, you can correct them by running:
    
    > /usr/local/cpanel/check_cpanel_rpms --fix
    
    The following RPMs are found to be altered from their original install state:
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/authtest
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/checkpassword-reply
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/convert-tool
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/deliver
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/dict
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/dovecot-auth
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/expire-tool
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/gdbhelper
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/idxview
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/imap
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/imap-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/imap-utf7
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/listview
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/logview
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/maildirlock
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/pop3
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/pop3-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/rawlog
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/ssl-build-param
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/threadview
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/sbin/dovecot
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/sbin/dovecotpw
    exim,4.80,4.cp1136,/usr/sbin/exim_dbmbuild
    exim,4.80,4.cp1136,/usr/sbin/exim_dumpdb
    exim,4.80,4.cp1136,/usr/sbin/exim_fixdb
    exim,4.80,4.cp1136,/usr/sbin/exim_lock
    exim,4.80,4.cp1136,/usr/sbin/exim_tidydb
    exim,4.80,4.cp1136,/usr/sbin/sendmail
    MySQL55-shared,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/lib64/libmysqlclient.so.18.0.0
    MySQL55-test,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysql_client_test
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/innochecksum
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/my_print_defaults
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/myisam_ftdump
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/myisamchk
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/myisamlog
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/myisampack
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysql_plugin
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysql_tzinfo_to_sql
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysql_upgrade
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqltest
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/perror
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/replace
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/resolve_stack_dump
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/resolveip
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/mysqld
    MySQL55-server,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/mysqld-debug
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysql
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysql_waitpid
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqladmin
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqlbinlog
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqlcheck
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqldump
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqlimport
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqlshow
    MySQL55-client,5.5.29,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/mysqlslap
    cpanel-userperl,1.0,1.cp1136,/usr/bin/perlml
    
    not sure what is going on here.. Any ideas?

    It did complete the update to .4 however.



    CENTOS 6.3 x86_64 standard
    WHM 11.36.0 (build 4)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Zepplin

    Zepplin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Had a similar message as well but found check_cpanel_rpms in scripts

    root@moo-la1 [~]# /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix
    [20130202.165120] No missing RPMs found!
    [20130202.165120] All Installed RPMs are needed
    [20130202.165124] No altered rpms found!

    So far all good Steve.

    George
     
  3. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I tried the check_cpanel_rpms script and it seemed to work with the exception of this:
    Code:
    [20130202.005119]   Checking for and running RPM::Versions 'post' hooks for any RPMs just installed
    warn [check_cpanel_rpms] program "/scripts/postmysqlinstall" is not executable
    warn [check_cpanel_rpms] program "/scripts/postmysqlup" is not executable
    warn [check_cpanel_rpms] program "/scripts/posteximup" is not executable
    warn [check_cpanel_rpms] program "/scripts/postdovecotup" is not executable
    [20130202.005119]   All required 'post' hooks have been run
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The warns are noise from the standard hooks system. We have a case on preventing those messages from appearing in the output. For now you can ignore them.

    Were you able to get your RPM problems resolved?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes the check_cpanel_rpms script did fix it..

    Just a heads up, the .11 update generated this error:

    Code:
    Problems were detected with cPanel-provided files which are RPM controlled.
    If you did not make these changes intentionally, you can correct them by running:
    
    > /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix
    
    The following RPMs are found to be altered from their original install state:
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/imap-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/pop3-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/ssl-build-param
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One of the checks performed by check_cpanel_rpms is to run rpm -qV against each of the cPanel provided RPMs. If there is any output from the rpm command, then that particular package is being modified post install.

    If you run rpm -qV dovecot you should see the exact way those files differ from what the RPM provides. At this point you, or we if you opened a support ticket, need to discover what on your system is changing those files post-install.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm thinking its the latest update as another one of my servers just updated and I got this message back:
    Code:
    Problems were detected with cPanel-provided files which are RPM controlled.
    If you did not make these changes intentionally, you can correct them by running:
    
    > /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix
    
    The following RPMs are found to be altered from their original install state:
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/imap-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/pop3-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/ssl-build-param
    nsd,3.2.14,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/nsd
    nsd,3.2.14,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/nsd-checkconf
    nsd,3.2.14,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/nsd-notify
    nsd,3.2.14,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/nsd-patch
    nsd,3.2.14,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/nsd-xfer
    nsd,3.2.14,1.cp1136,/usr/sbin/zonec
    Nothing done on my end yet, just the auto upcp
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. frenziedfox

    frenziedfox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I am getting this too (WHM 11.36.0 (build 14))

    I got an email saying:

    When I run /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix as suggested it runs and returns to the command prompt with no output at all.
     
  9. elderban

    elderban Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ran into the same error myself, ran the fix, and it came up with a few errors.

    But this morning I got the error again, and ran the fix again, but nothing happened.
     
  10. coreweb1

    coreweb1 Registered

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Same here...:confused:
     
  11. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I ran this on a few servers. I think where it returns nothing everything is "good" whereas where it returns running the command it has issues and has fixed the hooks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. paulw91

    paulw91 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We are having reports from many of our customers that they are receiving this error too.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,323
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you verify the specific error message you are receiving, and the versions of cPanel you are updating to/from?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Tunio

    Tunio Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got blow email from cpanel@server:
    Problems were detected with cPanel-provided files which are RPM controlled.
    > If you did not make these changes intentionally, you can correct them by running:
    >
    > > /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix
    >
    > The following RPMs are found to be altered from their original install state:
    > cpanel-php53-PEAR,1.9.4,3.cp1136,/opt/cpanel/php/53/.registry/pear.reg

    you tell me what is it means and where can run command: /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix
    i count not find command prompt
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,323
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That issue is addressed here:

    [Case 84937] Altered RPMs found - cPanel Forums

    I am closing this particular thread because the recent responses are not related to the originally reported issue.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice