The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade to Apache 2.x.xx

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by AndyReed, Aug 26, 2006.

  1. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    As of today, August 26th, 2006, you can upgrade Apache to v2.0.59, or v2.2.3. This upgrade, so far, is available for Current and Edge versions of the cPanel/WHM.
     
  2. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't see that option in the latest current...
     
  3. BryanSD

    BryanSD Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I also don't see it in the Current.
     
  4. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's edge only, and it's been available since the 22nd
     
  5. a66fm

    a66fm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greece
    and hopefully will be less buggy when it gets implemented to the rest of the releases
     
  6. donniesd

    donniesd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone tried apache2 with cpanel on VPS?
     
    #6 donniesd, Aug 27, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2006
  7. lucaslim

    lucaslim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    Will be doing that upgrade to apache 2.2 soon.. Hopefully they release a newer build.. Heard many complained about the first build..
     
  8. BryanSD

    BryanSD Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried it on a newly installed VPS had everything working. I ran into some problems with trying to get both PHP4/PHP5 working...but this was my first stab at it and more than likely ignorance on my part. My first impression is new users/site are going to to be just fine running Cpanel's Apache 2, but maybe a few headaches for existing sites.

    But alas, it's time for me to do some real work and return to the Current package...

    -Bryan
     
  9. patryk

    patryk Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm running CPanel beta with Apache2 from two weeks or so - I have some problems (like duplicate entries of logs in httpd.conf and problems with cpu usage option with CPanel) but everything else is quite fine..
     
  10. WebVandals

    WebVandals Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where the heck is it? I upgraded Current and didn't see any option for apache 2. So a took a big risk and upgraded to Edge (on a production server) -- cuz I really *need* apache 2. But apache 2 is still a no show under apache update. What's the story? How do I get apache 2?
     
  11. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    Upgrade to edge and run easyapache
     
  12. iwdev

    iwdev Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry for a probably stupid/simple question... :)

    I've just done this and all is largely working fine, but no mod_proxy or mod_proxy_balancer options in easyapache.

    How would I recompile with the '--enable-proxy --enable-proxy-html --enable-proxy-balancer' options added?
     
  13. grindlay

    grindlay Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cpanel 11.0-E488 upgrading to Apache 2

    I ran the install script, selecting the default 2.0.59 and option (2).
    It finished with:
    "Error: postcheck() returned a failed status"
    and it reverted to 1.3.36.
    Nothing in logs/error.log!
    Any ideas?
    Grindlay
     
  14. donniesd

    donniesd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Has this moved to Current yet, or is it still in edge? AndyReed was wrong when he posted.
     
  15. lucaslim

    lucaslim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    Nope.. This is still under Edge
     
  16. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  17. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Yes, I made a mistake and I am sorry for not updating my earlier post in this thread. Apache 2.x comes with the Edge version only, so far. Thank you!
     
  18. chud67

    chud67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here, anyone know how to fix this?
     
  19. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It means something failed during your Apache 2 upgrade and it reverted
    back to your original installation.

    It could mean a million things ....

    I would use the option in EasyApache to leave the failed install in place
    so that the problems can be resolved manually.

    After that, I'd run /usr/local/apache2/bin/apachectl configtest and check
    the error_log file in /etc/httpd/logs to try to find out what failed.

    In most cases, it's usually something simply like an old 1.3.x module
    you forgot to disable before upgrading or a failed PHP compile, etc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page