The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upgrade to Java Runtime Environment (JRE) version 1.8

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by sergiomarcelo, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. sergiomarcelo

    sergiomarcelo Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Porto Alegre
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello guys,

    I need to upgrade java 1.6 to Java Runtime Environment (JRE) version 1.8

    ... To run Solr this version of java is a prerequisite.

    And there is an incompatibility with EasyApache 3.

    Can anyone give me a light?

    Thank you!

    Sérgio

    --

    Java version 1.6.0_41
    CentOS 6 (64bit)
    Easy Apache v3.34.12
    Apache 2.2
    PHP 5.6
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,204
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you provide some more information about your current setup? For instance, have you installed Tomcat through EasyApache 3?

    Thank you.
     
  3. sergiomarcelo

    sergiomarcelo Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Porto Alegre
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,
    I do not have Tomcat running.
    I just need to update the java version for JRE 1.8
    I tried to update manually, but there were problems, like the loss of the server's php.ini reference, etc.
    It was passed by the advanced support team that this version was not compatible like easy apache - cpanel, and for this I look for help.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,204
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you let us know the specific steps/commands you took to manually install the software?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Install Java Runtime 1.8

    Code:
    yum install java-1.8.0
    or If you need a java compiler and other developer tools:

    Code:
    yum install java-1.8.0-openjdk-devel
     
  6. sergiomarcelo

    sergiomarcelo Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Porto Alegre
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you and sorry for taking time to respond.

    Below all the commands used:
    Code:
    Java -version
    
    # 1.6
    
    Yum install java-1.8.0-openjdk
    
    # How to upgrade java is to be able to install solr ...
    
    Cd / opt
    Wget http://www.us.apache.org/dist/lucene/solr/6.4.2/solr-6.4.2.tgz
    Tar zxvf solr-6.4.2.tgz
    Cp solr-6-4-2 / bin / install_solr_service.sh
    Rm -rf solr-6-4-2
    ./install_solr_service.sh solr-6-4-2.tgz
    Chkconfig solr on
    Su-solr -c "/ opt / solt / bin / solr create_core -c moodle"
    
    # Error: Your current version of java is too old to run this version of solr. We found version 1.6.0_41, using command 'java'
    Please install latest version of java 8 or be JAVA_HOME properly.
    
    As I installed more than one version of java on the server, on different paths, I ended up configuring JAVA_HOME for the java-1.8.0 version installed, but still continued to display the above error.

    In contact with hostdime, they said that this version of java could have conflict with easyapache 3. In the end I had to uninstall and go back to version 1.6.0-41.

    But I believe that I must have a correct way to update Java to run with our current system.

    Thanks for listening.
     
    #6 sergiomarcelo, Mar 21, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2017
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,204
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Did you relay to HostDime that you were not using Tomcat? Also, is there any reason you prefer to use EasyApache 3 over EasyApache 4, assuming you do not require Tomcat?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page