Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

upgrade to mariadb 10 and question marks

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by magj, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. magj

    magj Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi
    I have a cpanel server which I tried to upgrade the mysql to mariadb 10, now everything works except many joomla 1.5 websites which were using unicode languages are now displaying question mark instead of every character:

    ??????????????? ?????????

    There are tens of this kind of website.

    I took a look, the data is ok on databases (via phpmyadmin).

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
    #1 magj, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2015
  2. magj

    magj Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I asked in joomla and mariadb forum and no answers so I inspected and found the issue, I post here so if any site administrator needs to benefit the mariadb 10 for even older and non-supported versions of joomla can use this quick fix.

    hope it helps

    in
    Code:
    libraries/joomla/database/database/mysql.php
    or (depending on your setting)
    Code:
    libraries/joomla/database/database/mysqli.php
    comment the line 186

    Code:
    return ($verParts[0] == 5 || ($verParts[0] == 4 && $verParts[1] == 1 && (int)$verParts[2] >= 2));
    and add this instead(assuming these days you'll have unicode supported database:
    Code:
       return (1);
    the code looks like:
    Code:
    function hasUTF()
       {
         $verParts = explode( '.', $this->getVersion() );
       //   return ($verParts[0] == 5 || ($verParts[0] == 4 && $verParts[1] == 1 && (int)$verParts[2] >= 2));
       return (1);
       }
    Best
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,809
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    I'm happy to see you were able to address the issue. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. magj

    magj Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I'm also happy to overcome this (then-horrible) issue.

    I think there are hundreds of thousands of Joomla 1.5 websites there so the servers should not wait to see them upgraded to be able to use new versions of Database.

    Best
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice