The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade to PHP 4.3.10 how?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BrooksBridges, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. BrooksBridges

    BrooksBridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey all, I've run the updatenow, and upcp scripts, but I'm still stuck on php 4.3.9. Due to the recent announcement on slashdot, this is getting more press, and I'd like to get this updated asap. Can someone give me a few suggestions on where to start since it doesn't seem to be in CURRENT yet? I'm running WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-C13 if it matters.

    Thanks!
    -Brooks
     
  2. bornonline

    bornonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    I'm going to try and do this today as well.

    FYI... some info on WHT about the upgrade and ZEND is at 2.5.7.

    They are saying to make sure you upgrade ZEND at the same time.
    Link
     
  3. BrooksBridges

    BrooksBridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the heads up. I had done that a little bit ago based on info I found in a thread from yesterday about the new php breaking things. I just upgraded and verified Zend about 30 min ago, but have yet to find how to get php upgraded. I really don't want to do it "manually" as I'm afraid of it messing with things... cpanel seems to be somewhat finicky about having things the way it wants them :rolleyes:
     
  4. bornonline

    bornonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    I have not upgraded yet, but look in your WHM and click the "rebuild apache" links and you should see the different PHP versions with 4.3.10 being an option. I have not done this yet because I'm not sure this is the best way, but at least it's listed.
    I'm wondering if using this will break mod_security or any of the other modules that are not installed by default..... back to reading.

    You wanna try it first :D
     
    #4 bornonline, Dec 17, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2004
  5. BrooksBridges

    BrooksBridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    lol... I'll go check that out now... wish me luck :eek:
     
  6. BrooksBridges

    BrooksBridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    which section is the link in? I've dug through the whole left side list, and see nothing about "rebuild apache" (I'm using the x theme, if that info's needed)

    please point me in a direction?

    Thanks :D
     
  7. BrooksBridges

    BrooksBridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ah hah "Update Apache" you confused me ;)

    off to break things... be back soon, I hope :eek:
     
  8. docjohn

    docjohn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Doesn't seem to be available...

    I just did an update of WHM/cpanel and easyapache is still listing 4.3.9 as the latest you can build to. I suspect cPanel hasn't yet released their version yet....
     
  9. BrooksBridges

    BrooksBridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    httpd started ok

    Build Complete

    PHP Version 4.3.10

    seems to have taken, and things are working so far... I'll update the thread if I notice any wierd crap. Thanks for pointing that out, I had overlooked it ;)

    -Brooks
     
  10. bornonline

    bornonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth

    It's listed in my WHM, but I have not tried a rebuild yet. I was waiting on someone else to break test it first.
     
  11. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you do Zend yet?
     
  12. mjm2

    mjm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    rm -rf /
    updating 2 machines now... hopefully all goes well :P
     
  13. BrooksBridges

    BrooksBridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    yeah, I had updated it earlier this morning when I had searched the threads and found this thread. All is well so far... all sites have been tested, and are working. YMMV, as always.
     
  14. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the update :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page