The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgraded.. Cpanel/WHM dont work... PLEASE help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Arvand, Aug 15, 2003.

  1. Arvand

    Arvand Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    I used upcp to upgrade to latest release. Now, mail server/Cpanel/WHM don't work. I have rebooted, reused upcp... nothing helps. All of CPanel's services fail to restart. I have clients waiting and this is no good. I know its my fault but I would glad if anyone could help. I want to downgrade to the previous version but I dont have access to WHM or anything. How can I do this?

    Thank you,

    Arvand Sabetian

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Arvand

    Arvand Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If it helps any... here is the only piece of information I can find on why in the melange.log. message only shows that it didnt start.

    27.10.2000, @897 (16:33: 3): melangeServerLoop()::SIGNAL #2 caught (SHUTTING DOW
    N): Interrupt

    also, Exim is running yet I cant connect to mail server. What could be the problem there?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #2 Arvand, Aug 15, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2003
  3. Arvand

    Arvand Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sorry for the tripple message but I keep on coming up with ideas to add to maybe distinguish the problem. I have checked the following logs:

    /var/log/message

    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/*

    Is there any other thing that can give me a clue?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Try running a stable release:

    edit /etc/cpupdate.conf
    change CPANEL= to CPANEL=stable
    save, close, /scripts/upcp

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Arvand

    Arvand Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok this is a step by step procedure on exactly what I did. Everything seems to work fine now but ive only tried it for a few minutes...

    The problem occured when I updated to latest STABLE release...

    I reinstalled Apache using

    wget layer1.cpanel.net/latest
    sh latest

    Nothing changed

    So I changed to RELEASE instead of STABLE. I ran upcp... Now All Cpanel services ran but I couldnt get into WHM and Cpanel had MySQL errors. So what I did was move /usr/local/cpanel to /usr/local/cpanelold and then run...

    wget layer1.cpanel.net/latest
    sh latest

    this one was with RELEASE. It worked. For now anyways.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. gsbe

    gsbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Upgraded CPanel and lost users accounts!

    Were you able to see your user accounts when this happened? I think that a similar problem has happened to me, so I'd like to know the details of your info before I try your solution. Here's my situation...

    Woke up this morning to the following message in WHM home in a red box:

    cPanel / Web Host Manager Version Notice
    You are runnning an older version of cPanel/WHM. (7.2.1-STABLE_85) You should upgrade to the 7.4.2 series soon by (clicking here)! The 7.4.1 update contains important security improvements for frontpage server extensions. The 7.4.2 update contains important security update to prevent unauthorized relaying.

    This seemed rather important, so I clicked on the link which appeared to activate /scripts/upcp

    Everything appeared to be running fine, so I closed the browser window when requested.

    Now its actin' all kinda weird. Accounts show in the DNS and in "Modify an Account" but not under "List Accounts" or Upgrade/Downgrade an Account". Users' CPanels are not loading. Jeez, I shouldn't have touched the damn thing. CAN YOU HELP?

    Software on the server currently is:
    WHM 7.4.2 cPanel 7.4.2-S82
    RedHat 8.0 - WHM X v2.1

    Server is the Linux Power Server.

    Thanks in advance.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 21153
     
    #6 gsbe, Aug 16, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2003
  7. Arvand

    Arvand Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I know your feeling. specially if your users are paid users.

    Run this in SSH:

    /usr/local/cpanel/startup

    It should fix your cpanel. My Cpanel stopped working after those updates too and that fixed it. As for user accounts. Generally the user accounts are obtained from httpd.conf. Maybe you should go to /etc/httpd/conf and check your httpd.conf and see if all your user accounts are there. Before doing what I did though (which I don't recommend to anyone) I suggest that you put a ticket in for your other problems. Because this was a problem with Cpanel's update, they should help you straighten it out. I am using RELEASE tree myself as the STABLE tree did me wrong.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. gsbe

    gsbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    huh? all clear...

    Very strange. I added one account and all the information showed up immediately. So, I'm to conclude that nothing is wrong. I hope...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page