The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgraded to cPanel 11, now server has high Load Average?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Daniel15, May 11, 2007.

  1. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently upgraded a server to cPanel 11 (CURRENT build, upgraded from cPanel 10 CURRENT), and the server now seems to have an unusually high load average. Previously, the load average was around 0.10 (this server doesn't have many users on it), but now it rises as high as 7 or 8.
    Below is a graph I obtained from Munin. Tuesday (right where the first major load spike is) was when the cPanel 11 upgrade was performed.
    [​IMG]

    Anyone have any ideas on what could be causing this?

    Edit: Looks like it's gone back down to normal now... If it goes back up again, I'll grab more information about it (ps output, etc.)
     
    #1 Daniel15, May 11, 2007
    Last edited: May 11, 2007
  2. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any ideas guys? This went away for a while, but has come back...
    A message I received in my email box (sent automatically via ConfigServer Security and Firewall): http://paste.uni.cc/15549
     
  3. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Bump...
    Any ideas, guys? I got this today:
    Edit: Oops, my bad, I think I found it:
    The /tmp was full of cache files (from APC), and it started going stupid. I've moved APC's cache to /var/local/apc, and I'll see if this fixes it :)
     
    #3 Daniel15, May 17, 2007
    Last edited: May 17, 2007
  4. aurigus

    aurigus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That'll do it :)
     
  5. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looks like it wasn't that...
    Any other ideas?

    ps output is similar to what I originally posted.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    1. Upgrade the kernel as that's no longer the latest for RHEv4/CentOSv4 (CentOS went to v4.5 overnight)

    2. If there are still issues, you need to be looking in top to see what's consuming the server resources, and/or wade through:

    ps auxef
     
  7. MarcoH64

    MarcoH64 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also check if you don't have any apache logfiles over 2Gb in size.
     
  8. WindyT

    WindyT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    As always, I look for your posts, Chirpy, and get the answers. Overnight, several issues started going wacky on my server, and after reading your above mention, I concluded that the new CentOS 4.5 must not have been playing well with the older kernel. I upgraded the kernel, rebooted, and while I'm still testing, things look back to normal. Thanks!
     
  9. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'll do this, once I find out how to... I'm a noob with CentOS (my preferred distro is Debian). Does cPanel's "Update System Software" (or whatever it's called) do this? Otherwise, I'll search around for information on how to do this :)
    WHM reports that the system has "CENTOS Enterprise 4.5".
    Edit: OK, upgraded kernel to 2.6.9-55.EL :).

    I posted the ps output to http://paste.uni.cc/15549 (it was too big to fit here) :)
     
    #9 Daniel15, May 18, 2007
    Last edited: May 18, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page