The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading BIND

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by DReade83, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I'm running a new server running CentOS 5 and BIND 9.3.3rc2. Is there any easy way to update BIND to the latest version?
     
  2. mitul

    mitul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You should check yum updates for the same.

    Regards,
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's generally not a good idea to upgrade applications outside of the OS provider versions, in this case supplied to you via yum in rpms. If you really want to do that, then you would have to compile bind from source and make sure that you exclude bind from any future updates from CentOS by excluding the bind* rpms in /etc/yum.conf - you'll then have to track the bind developers site daily to be sure to upgrade if a new version comes out.

    The only real reason to go down that route is if there's a new function in the latest version of bind that you need, otherwise stay with the OS vendor versions which have security and bugfixes back-ported to stable versions.
     
  4. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    That's fine, I'll stick with Yum then. Thanks. :)
     
  5. pjman

    pjman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    New Bind Exploit

    http://secunia.com/advisories/26152/

    I'm Running BIND 9.2.1 on RH 7.3 How would I upgrade BIND or am I backported, if I'm running Legacy?

    Any input is much appreciated.
     
  6. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    Do a OS reload to the last version or go to CentOS. RH 7.3 is very very old and with many bugs
     
Loading...

Share This Page